Search Unity

Combat System Logic

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by baazul, Jul 17, 2019.

1. baazul

baazul

Hello,

I am a beginner and trying various things to learn. Currently, I am making a combat system but it's not working the way I expected. I know the reason and realized the script is not at "fault", but it's the logic behind. And I may lack knowledge to find the best logic to make this system working. You may find it stupid, I start to think that my brain is just tired due to all the recent learning I did... I am confused.

1. I want to make a combat method that will display life and damage from both player and enemy
    2. Once I press the "attack" button, both hit in same time and the damage number is removed to the life number for each
    3. Player fights one enemy at a time but there are multiple different enemies with different stats in-game

Currently the way I tried is:

I have a combat method that remove the damage number from the life number for each with something like:

Code (CSharp):
    1. Public void combatMethod (int life, int damage)
    2. {
    3.     // life = life - damage;
    4. }
    Then I made a method for both the enemies. Something like:

Code (CSharp):
    1. public void enemy1 ()
    2. {
    3.       // display enemy sprite
    4.      combatMethod (50,10);
    5. }
    8. public void enemy2 ()
    10. {
    11.      // display enemy sprite
    12.      combatMethod (70,12);
    13. }
    So I call one of the enemy method to set the "life" and "damage" variable to the value I want the I planed to attach the combatMethod to an "Attack" button in unity with an OnClick event.

First issue, I noticed that I could not attach in unity the combatMethod function to a button. Apparently because there is the (int life, int damage). I don't know the reason...

So I removed this part and tried to include the life and damage variables within the "enemy1" and "enemy2" method directly. With something like:

Code (CSharp):