Search Unity

Colors. Colors. and MORE colors. PLEASE

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by MurcsRoyce, Oct 7, 2017.

?

Do we need our hierarchy to be colorful ?

1. yes

88.9%
  2. no

11.1%
  1. MurcsRoyce

MurcsRoyce

This is a problem. I cant be the only one. after extensive development in a single project, my eyes are in a disarray with the hierarchy. Projects tend to get big fast with many many objects in the hierarchy. Black and white will no longer be acceptable to me. As a developer I cant waste time attempting to find 1 object out of 300 within a black and white format, and searching is not good enough. I'm simply suggesting to add colors to the hierarchy please. Its not that hard and the community will love it. Also adding a (Quick function) to change any label within the entire unity interface would be great. If unity cares about its users and cares about bigger projects being released by people then this is going to be necessary for extreme developers. I hope this message finds the person who can make change.

Thanks You

2. Martin_H

Martin_H

Check the assetstore, I'm pretty sure there is an asset that does most of what you want.

MurcsRoyce and zombiegorilla like this.
  3. zombiegorilla

zombiegorilla

MurcsRoyce and Martin_H like this.
  4. ADNCG

ADNCG

On top of that, splitting things like this actually helped me quite a bit and it makes me feel fancy. Got the idea from a #UnityTips tweet but I forgot the author's name. So, sorry whoever came up with this first!

Oh, and please no laughing at my naming inconsistency :oops:

Screen Shot 2017-10-07 at 9.51.18 PM.png

MurcsRoyce and CloudyVR like this.
  5. dmennenoh

dmennenoh

How do you do that? Are just empty GO's you name like that?

MurcsRoyce likes this.
  6. ADNCG

ADNCG

Yea, and set their tag to EditorOnly so they aren't included in the build.

Flavelius, MurcsRoyce and dmennenoh like this.
  7. dmennenoh

dmennenoh

great tip, thanks!

MurcsRoyce likes this.
  8. CloudyVR