Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Enter the 2020.2 Beta Sweepstakes for a chance to win an Oculus Quest 2.
    Dismiss Notice

Bug Color Picker not supported on this platform!

Discussion in '2020.1 Beta' started by qmqz, Mar 24, 2020.

  1. qmqz

    qmqz

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10
    Every time I try to open up the colour picker on a material, I get these 4 errors.


    I've tried re-installing. I've tried reverting to previous installations. I've created empty projects and the same issue occurs. This never happened before until I updated to 2020. After the update, it stopped working regardless of Unity version. Though, strangely enough, if I go to the Lighting tab, I can use the colour picker on the ambient colour.

    Any suggestions?

    Target platform is Windows 64-bit.

    PC is:
    Windows 10 Pro
    Version 1709
    OS Build 16299.1087
     
  2. YuOlvera

    YuOlvera

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    I'm having the same problem. Please Unity I can't find the solution anywhere. I tried by reinstalling both Unity Hub and my Unity version.
     
  3. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    5,202
    I'm unable to reproduce the issue with Unity 2020.1.0b2 on Windows 10:
    • Created a new "3D" project through the HUB
    • Changed target platform in build settings to x86_64
    • Created new material with Standard shader
    • Clicked Albedo color field in material
    Color picker opens, no error occurred. I also tried various other color fields, such as the one in Camera. It just works.

    Anything you did differently? Perhaps you didn't use the "3D" project template in the Unity Hub?
     
  4. qmqz

    qmqz

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10
    I've tried 3D w/ extras, Universal and HDRP.
    Regardless of x86 or x86_64, errors still occurred.
    Camera and Ambient light colour fields work, just not materials. I've tried on numerous material shaders.
    It seems like a really strange bug at this point.
     
  5. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    7,746
    Can you try running this in an editor script?

    Code (csharp):
    1. EditorPrefs.SetBool("UseOSColorPicker", false);
    In any case, we need a bug report on this.
     
    Storm4_ and qmqz like this.
  6. qmqz

    qmqz

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10
    I went through the regedit route and changed the colour picker value to 0 and this fixed it. Thank you! Not sure if you still want a bug report though since your solution works. I'm more confused by why this value ever changed though.
     
  7. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    7,746
    Yes, still file a bug report please. If you get into this state somehow we don't want to show that ridiculous error message.
     
    richardkettlewell likes this.
  8. qmqz

    qmqz

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10
    Thank you so much! The bug report case is 1231003.
     
    LeonhardP and Peter77 like this.
  9. bllockgames

    bllockgames

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Yes it works, thanks a lot.
     
  10. YuOlvera

    YuOlvera

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Yup, I made a video on this topic, it's basicly the same but changing the hexadecimal value in the Windows Registry Editor.
     
    danikanama, penno195 and Lorash like this.
  11. aorlfreelancer

    aorlfreelancer

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2020
    Posts:
    35
    This bug still happens in Unity 3D version 2019.3.13f1 , thanks youtube video i found work around, YuOlvera solution works!
     
  12. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,229
  13. aorlfreelancer

    aorlfreelancer

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2020
    Posts:
    35
    Cool , but i am still lazy to edit back the registry edit ;)
     
  14. Panda_-dev94

    Panda_-dev94

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Where do I put this exactly???
     
  15. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    7,746
    In an editor script somewhere and run it once.
     
unityunity