Search Unity

collisions - help with "is trigger"

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by psx, Aug 25, 2005.

1. psx

psx

I'm just getting started with a basic prototype for a soccer game. One thing I'm stuck on is how to make the player kick the ball. I'm starting out very simple with the prefab fps controller.

What I'm looking for is when the player is touching the ball (or better yet, within a few inches of the ball) he can press the mouse button and kick the ball.

So far, I've tried simply setting "is trigger" on for the ball, but this makes it fall through my floor.

I have some ideas about how to do it, but don't know how to actually implement them in Unity.

My first idea is to somehow attach an invisible "foot" to the fps controller prefab. Essentially this would be a brick attached to the bottom-front area of the controller pill. So whenever the ball hits this brick, the player can kick the ball.

I think I can figure out the kick action (apply some force to the ball in the direction the player is looking) but where I'm stuck is how to attach the foot to the player, and then get the collision event(s) and do something with them. I'm thinking here I'll have a script attached to either the player or possibly the foot.

Also, I'm going to need 2 goal models that need to know when they've been hit by the ball. Again, I'm thinking an invisible cube inside the goal.

I guess I'm just looking for advice/best-practices for this sort of stuff. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!

thanks!
    psx

2. psx

psx

ok... I'm taking a break from kicking right now and working on the goal stuff.

Here's what I have, but it isn't working:

a large cube and a ball. I have a script attached to the cube with this function:
    Code (csharp):
    2. function onTriggerEnter(c) {
    3.      print("trigger: "+ c);
    4. }
    "is trigger" is checked for the cube. Anyone have any ideas why this doesn't print when the ball rolls into and through the cube?