Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Feature Request CollisionFilter as a separate IComponentData

Discussion in 'Physics for ECS' started by scottjdaley, Mar 14, 2023.

1. scottjdaley

scottjdaley

I've been working with ECS for a couple of years now and I've run into several use cases where I want to change what an entity can collide with, either temporarily or permanently. It seems like something that should be relatively simple to do, but is surprisingly difficult.

For context, here is what change collision filter system might look like:

Code (CSharp):
    1. public partial struct ChangeCollisionFilterSystem : ISystem
    2. {
    3.     private NativeList<PhysicsCollider> _createdColliders;
    5.     [BurstCompile]
    6.     public void OnCreate(ref SystemState state)
    7.     {
    8.         state.RequireForUpdate<MyEntity>();
    10.         _createdColliders = new NativeList<PhysicsCollider>(Allocator.Persistent);
    11.     }
    13.     [BurstCompile]
    14.     public void OnDestroy(ref SystemState state)
    15.     {
    16.         foreach (PhysicsCollider collider in _createdColliders)
    17.         {
    18.             collider.Value.Dispose();
    19.         }
    20.         _createdColliders.Dispose();
    21.     }
    23.     [BurstCompile]
    24.     public void OnUpdate(ref SystemState state)
    25.     {
    26.         Entity entity = SystemAPI.GetSingletonEntity<MyEntity>();
    27.         var collider = SystemAPI.GetComponent<PhysicsCollider>(entity);
    28.         BlobAssetReference<Collider> colliderCopy = collider.Value.Value.Clone();
    29.         CollisionFilter filter = colliderCopy.Value.GetCollisionFilter();
    30.         filter.BelongsTo = 16;
    31.         colliderCopy.Value.SetCollisionFilter(filter);