Search Unity

Question Collision with sharp edges

Discussion in 'Physics' started by partimevillain, Nov 29, 2022.

1. partimevillain

partimevillain

Hello everyone,
    I'm very new to unity and have ran into a problem I couldn't find answers for.
    upload_2022-11-28_21-7-0.png

In the image above, you could see the terrain, fence and trees, have rough and sharp edges.
    Often times when it collides when the character, the player will do an abrupt "jump" to unexpected locations.
    I am 90% sure this is due to the rough outline of the terrain. I thought about adding collider boxes
    around the terrain of make things even but if I have to do that for every piece of terrain, it could take up a lot of time. Are there any faster and more reliable methods to fix this problem?
    I am using my tiny-RPG-Forest in the asset store. be perfect if I could just fill up the square/tile.
    thank you

2. MelvMay

MelvMay

Unity Technologies

Presumably you're correctly moving by manipulating the Rigidbody2D correct? Adding forces, modifying velocity etc? You're not teleporting the object to new positions via the Transforms right i.e. non-physical motion?

The physics engine doesn't know what a "sharp edge" is so there's nothing to fix apart from finding out what causes the "jump".

partimevillain likes this.
  3. partimevillain

partimevillain

upload_2022-11-29_12-32-51.png
    This is what I'm using for movement.
    I've tried both methods and they all give the same problem.
    I think the cause is the jagged edges that make contact with the character, say when the corner of the character's
    box collides with a caved in part of the terrain.
    It works fine when I manually put another collider box around the terrain so the character would not touch the sharp edges, but like I mentioned before, if I were to do this it will take up quite a long time.
    The sprites I'm using was imported from the asset store. so I didn't do the edges.