Search Unity

Collision Point

Discussion in 'DOTS Physics' started by iiziziz, Mar 22, 2020.

1. iiziziz

iiziziz

Hi there,

I'm relatively new with DOTS and playing for the first time with
    ICollisionEventJob

By now everything was going well, triggering the event and my job doing some stuff.
    But my logic has to be applied only if my player entity hits the ground below the player.

Previously, to do this, I was comparing top and bottom of each box colliders but I was looking for a different way to do this with
    CollisionEvent

Is there a way to find the collision point related to the
    CollisionEvent
    ?

2. petarmHavok

petarmHavok

Hello, have you tried to call CalculateDetails() on your CollisionEvent? It will give you Details that provide EstimatedContactPointPositions and EstimatedImpulse.

3. iiziziz

iiziziz

I tried to swap to an
    IContactsJob
    but constantly having issues with
    NumWorkItems
    being deallocated.

I'm getting this message :

Code (CSharp):
    1. InvalidOperationException: The NativeContainer MySystemJob.NumWorkItems has been deallocated. All containers must be valid when scheduling a job.
    2. Unity.Jobs.LowLevel.Unsafe.JobsUtility.Schedule (Unity.Jobs.LowLevel.Unsafe.JobsUtility+JobScheduleParameters& parameters) (at <58a34b0a618d424bb5fc18bb9bcdac20>:0)
    3. Unity.Physics.IContactsJobExtensions.ScheduleUnityPhysicsContactsJob[T] (T jobData, Unity.Physics.ISimulation simulation, Unity.Physics.PhysicsWorld& world, Unity.Jobs.JobHandle inputDeps) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.physics@0.3.0-preview.1/Unity.Physics/Dynamics/Simulation/IContactsJob.cs:160)
    4. Unity.Physics.IContactsJobExtensions.Schedule[T] (T jobData, Unity.Physics.ISimulation simulation, Unity.Physics.PhysicsWorld& world, Unity.Jobs.JobHandle inputDeps) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.physics@0.3.0-preview.1/Unity.Physics/Dynamics/Simulation/IContactsJob.cs:122)