Search Unity

Collision Overlap issue

Discussion in '2D' started by RektByGrub, Nov 14, 2020.

1. RektByGrub

RektByGrub

Hello All,

Apologies I am quite new to Unity.

I have been following along a 2D game making course, and they seem to have it all good, however I am facing a rather weird issue.

It seems like my collisions are "soft".

What I mean is when a collision happens, it looks like it bounces off like it would when hitting rubber, overlaps slightly and then bounces out.

I notice the softness of the material more when a slow moving object collides with a fast moving one and the overlap is clear as day.

Like below.

upload_2020-11-14_18-26-10.png

It is not game breaking but sure makes the game feel not well coded.

Tried searching for similar things but nothing seems to come up.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
    David

2. Ruskul

Ruskul

I think, if you set Collision Detection to Continuous in the rigidbody component you will avoid this.

devebasnet and RektByGrub like this.
  3. Ruskul

Ruskul

What is happening?

Basically, when you have fast moving physics objects,the velocity gets added to the objects position during the physics update. It then checks for collisions and then resolves those collisions. In physics settings in project settings, there is a value to describe how fast an object can be resolved from colliding. You can play with that value, but it can make other aspects of physics seem unstable when you have heaps of objects all in contact.

So, the faster the object moves, the larger the overlap may be when it collides with another object. Which, in turn means it takes more steps to resolve the collision. Checking Continuous Collision Detection means the object checks for collisions as it moves from its old position to its new one, preventing "deep overlaps" from happening in the first place.