Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.1 beta is now available.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We're looking for insight from anyone who has experience with game testing to help us better Unity. Take our survey here. If chosen to participate you'll be entered into a sweepstake to win an Amazon gift card.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. On February 28th the Feedback website will shut down and be redirected to the Unity forums. See the full post for more information.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Want to provide direct feedback to the Unity team? Join the Unity Advisory Panel.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Unity 2018.3 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice

Colliders in Probuilder

Discussion in 'World Building' started by mpottage, Feb 10, 2019.

  1. mpottage

    mpottage

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    I've been watching Probuilder tutorials, about greyboxing a level, but when it try it none of my stuff has colliders attached, and the tutorials never cover it? Using the "Set Collider" button just makes my meshes disappear when play testing. Am I missing something?
     
  2. kphipps

    kphipps

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Posts:
    46
    I believe new Probuilder objects have mesh colliders on them by default (which matches the object exactly).

    I think the 'Set Collider' function turns an object into a collider (mesh collider + not visible at runtime).

    You either want to use a mesh collider for an object, or delete the mesh collider and create simpler separate colliders for the objects with Probuilder and use 'Set Collider' on them (which will add a 'Collider Behaviour' script).
     
    mpottage and gabrielw_unity like this.
  3. mpottage

    mpottage

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks for replying, just tested it out in Unity and the collider is just there. Not sure how I missed that.
     
  4. gabrielw_unity

    gabrielw_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Posts:
    417
    Hi! Thanks @kphipps for helping out! Correct - PB applies a mesh collider by default, which you can't see in the sceneview. A quick check in the inspector should show the component, though :)

    Regarding "Set Collider", that's a special action (more info:
    )
     
    mpottage likes this.