Search Unity

College or self taught

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by CydoEntis, Nov 6, 2017.

1. CydoEntis

CydoEntis

Hey everyone, I'm 24 yrs old now currently work in HVAC and I find myself always thinking do I really want to do this forever or should I go to college and learn game development. I see all these videos on being self taught or making indie games etc but is tha the way to go? Should I continue learning on my own in my free time and hope one day someone will hire me or should I go to college and get a degree to make myself more hirable. Should i get a cs degree or a game design degree. Honestly I'm just lost atm. Kind of feel empty inside like something is missing from my life

2. Aiursrage2k

Aiursrage2k

Well I think you should go to college and get a CS degree it will give you more options in the future.

MBrown42, neginfinity and derf like this.
  3. Martin_H

Martin_H

I haven't read it myself, but this book recommendation sounds like something that I wish I had 12 years ago when I was choosing my career.

If the timestamp doesn't work, skip ahead to 1:21.

4. Ryiah

Ryiah

If you're not positive if this is for you then the best choice is to start game development on your own time before making a big commitment. Start by going through the Unity Learn section then make your own games from scratch starting with simple games with one mechanic and progressively getting more complex.

Regardless of whether you choose to go to college or not though, you'll want to spend some of your free time on game development because the people who will be your primary competition for jobs who have taken the course will have spent some of their free time learning more on the subject.

Generally a CS degree is recommended as a fallback in case you can't find a job in game development.

derf, TonyLi, Martin_H and 1 other person like this.
  5. Rasly233

Rasly233