Search Unity

Collaborations in VR - where are we at?

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by mvallance, Jun 3, 2019.

1. mvallance

mvallance

Hi. I am an education researcher and I see the potential for collaborations within specifically designed VR spaces (built by Unity).
    I have seen vrchat and the concept is cool, but I want to have learners (say, 3 or 4) login remotely to a VR space for specific education purposes .. and be private /protected.
    We used to do this on our designed OpenSim virtual worlds, but now I want to research the collaborations with HMD-enabled VR.
    Is the technology available for us to do this in Unity yet?
    If so, can you point me to some resources. I would be most grateful.
    Thank you very much.
    Michael

2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

You seem to be confusing tools with apps. Unity is a development tool. Of course it has the technology to do what you describe; you would only need to build it.

But it sounds to me like you're looking not to build an app, but to find an app built by somebody else that already does what you need to do. There are a number of social VR apps out there, some of which allow for private spaces. I've only dabbled at them and am no expert on that space, so I can't recommend any one in particular, but I suspect something suitable may exist.

3. mvallance

mvallance

Thank you for the post.
    I am wondering how to set up a Unity Project that can be used as a social space where a number of remote students can login and collaborate. And what resources are available at present.
    Thanks.
    Michael

4. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

I don't quite understand. You don't just "set up a Unity project" for that; it is a major development effort. It will take a skilled developer 6 months, at least, or a team of ordinary developers a year or more. You're talking about creating a sophisticated piece of software; that's not something you get just by clicking some widgets in Unity and pressing Play.