Search Unity

Collaborate null error

Discussion in 'Unity Collaborate' started by leegod, May 7, 2021.

  1. leegod

    leegod

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,129
    When using collaborate (1.5.7 version, newest), following error occurs,

    NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    Unity.Cloud.Collaborate.UserInterface.CollaborateWindow.OnDisable () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.collab-proxy@1.5.7/Editor/Collaborate/UserInterface/CollaborateWindow.cs:86)


    How to resolve this?

    collab-null-error.JPG
     
    Ghosthowl, AndiDroid and mailtorune like this.
  2. mmavis

    mmavis

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    I am getting the same error as of yesterday. Also using 1.5.7
     
    tmiku and AndiDroid like this.
  3. DrewShark

    DrewShark

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Same here.
    NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    Unity.Cloud.Collaborate.UserInterface.CollaborateWindow.OnDisable () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.collab-proxy@1.5.7/Editor/Collaborate/UserInterface/CollaborateWindow.cs:86)
     
  4. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    18,979
    Smells like Collaborate has a bug. See if you can figure out where it stores its preferences and delete them. Or perhaps try a slightly-earlier version, see if that works.

    You may wish to invest in the brainspace to use an industry-grade source control system. If you go for a job where such a system is in use, having the experience will be helpful.

    Personally I use git because it is free and there are tons of tutorials out there to help you set it up.

    Here's how I use git in one of my games, Jetpack Kurt:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/2-steps-backwards.965048/#post-6282497

    Using fine-grained source control as you work to refine your engineering:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/whe...grammer-example-in-text.1048739/#post-6783740

    Share/Sharing source code between projects:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/your-techniques-to-share-code-between-projects.575959/#post-3835837

    Setting up the right .gitignore file:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/removing-il2cpp_cache-from-project.1084607/#post-6997067
     
  5. leegod

    leegod

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,129
    @Kurt-Dekker
    But Git doesn't support asset and scene merging? and free Git only gives 300 MB total space?

    Then so only use Git as Script merging?

    and Assets(models, images,,) and Scene file manually copying by USB offline?
     
  6. Lurking-Ninja

    Lurking-Ninja

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    7,438
    It's a text file, any version control can merge it more or less successfully.
    If you use Git, you should use LFS too (for the binary files).
    - GitHub supports 500 megabytes projects.
    - Bitbucket gives you 1Gb LFS
    - Azure Repos (Azure Devops feature) gives you unlimited repos, repo sizes, unlimited LFS storage for persons and small teams (also can be used with Git or with Team Foundation)

    screenshot1.png

    It's an image, because the forum software ate the text source for some reason.
     
    Kurt-Dekker likes this.
  7. StarManta

    StarManta

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Posts:
    8,444
    There are many git servers with many free plans which have many different capabilities. Gitlab's free repos can be up to 10GB.
     
    Kurt-Dekker likes this.
  8. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    18,979
    Git itself supports repositories of unlimited size essentially.

    As others point out, LFS can help you manage larger files.

    You can always push or pull a repo of any size to a thumb drive, which works great for backups.
     
  9. Karifan

    Karifan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Just upgraded to 1.5.7 and got this Null exception. Normally I use collab only for some quick testing .. Probably don't update to this version yet.
     
  10. drokid

    drokid

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    Same here. I started to get this error after updating to 1.5.7
     
  11. ahSOLO1

    ahSOLO1

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2020
    Posts:
    5
    Got this error after updating as well. Reverting back to 1.3.9 using the package manager (look under "Version Control") fixed the issue.
     
    RoxyPloxy likes this.
  12. NiftyAlpaca

    NiftyAlpaca

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I just went from 1.5.7 to 1.3.9 and it just added yet another error for me :/
     
    AlterMannn and KrystianBooker like this.
  13. SomehowLuke

    SomehowLuke

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Posts:
    23
    Has there been any updates for the error:
    Unity.Cloud.Collaborate.UserInterface.CollaborateWindow.OnDisable
     
    KrystianBooker likes this.
  14. Sparty93

    Sparty93

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    I just updated to 2021.9 and with it updated to Version Control 1.57 and received this error. I just went to package manager, clicked "remove" version control. Then went back to Package Manager under Unity Registry and found and installed Version Control again. Error gone.
     
  15. JoeWok

    JoeWok

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2019
    Posts:
    3
  16. pistoleta

    pistoleta

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Posts:
    338
    Does this error cause your editor to freeze? lately 2020.3 is freezing all the time here and when I check the logs the only thing I see with an error is this...
    I dont know what else could be causing it.
    I'm using 2020.3.11
     
  17. FergJoe

    FergJoe

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Posts:
    11
    I've had this bug since the upgrade to 2021.1.9 - checked my VC after reading other posts - I'm also on VC 1.57. Reinstalling the component doesn't work for me, either. :(

    Occurs every time I compile or enter play mode. Not crashing the editor yet, but noticeably slowing compile / serialization. UGH!
     
  18. ruorgo_unity

    ruorgo_unity

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    I just remove the version control package and the error is gone
     
  19. PetraCephas

    PetraCephas

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Posts:
    13
    Yeah. This bug caused me to stop using/paying for collaborate.
    Unity only seems to respond to issues that they plan to fix.
     
  20. HariharanVN5

    HariharanVN5

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2021
    Posts:
    6
    yea But some people might be using that collaborate for version control so we can do like that
     
  21. Eyap

    Eyap

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2017
    Posts:
    38
  22. JoeWok

    JoeWok

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    i use version control in collaborate, any updates on the error?
     
  23. danchii

    danchii

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    I believe that if you close the collab window in the Inspector the error will be gone, still testing tho
     
  24. TheKingOfTheRoad

    TheKingOfTheRoad

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Posts:
    249
    Same error here- Please fix.
     
  25. atfunity2

    atfunity2

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    same problem for me, it doesn't affect my project but is very annoying...
     
  26. AquariuZ

    AquariuZ

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    Hi Close Collaborate Window and reopen it (Window ->Collaborate) this helps me
     
    aoikiwi, FiveDoIIar and fckingwicked like this.
  27. reginaLunar

    reginaLunar

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Same here. I upgraded the pkg to preview 2.x version then the error gone.
     
  28. Ghosthowl

    Ghosthowl

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Posts:
    192
    Like @AquariuZ said, a workaround for this is to simply close the Collaborate tab and keep it closed up until you need to use it again. Sync, then close again.
     
    Nastomeya likes this.
  29. yengNami

    yengNami

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2021
    Posts:
    4
    This has worked for me.
     
  30. Nastomeya

    Nastomeya

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    Close the tab and turn it back on would solve this.
     
    Benda000 likes this.
  31. hotroddd1

    hotroddd1

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Posts:
    6
    Same here. Closing the Collaborate window/tab and reopening it removed the error for me.
     
  32. CesilCo

    CesilCo

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    I had the same issue, using 2020.3.12. Somehow the error doesn't appear when i have the collaborate tab onscreen. Really don't know why this is happening but it works for me
    upload_2021-6-30_9-44-56.png
     
    Benda000 likes this.
  33. AP_Developing

    AP_Developing

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    thank you jesus. this worked for some dumb reason
     
  34. Benda000

    Benda000

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Thaaanks :)
     
  35. pKallv

    pKallv

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Posts:
    944
    does not work for me! Unity, fix this ASAP!
     
  36. lionkingsiro

    lionkingsiro

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    remove version contron. Update to 1.7.1 from Collaborate Window. Error will be gone
     
  37. pKallv

    pKallv

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Posts:
    944
    This seems to work, thank you very much!
     
  38. riteshgaur

    riteshgaur

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Removing version control works for me

     
  39. unity_xAFEITVBi4IOkw

    unity_xAFEITVBi4IOkw

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    I have updated Unity Collaborate to the latest version. And then I can fix it. upload_2021-7-28_0-36-56.png
     
    chemicalcrux likes this.
  40. chemicalcrux

    chemicalcrux

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Posts:
    25
    I can't update to anything newer than 1.5.7 in 2020.3.13f1 without getting compilation errors.

    However, it seems like the process of updating to 1.8.0 (and then reverting back down to the verified 1.5.7 release) resolved this. So, that's still worth a shot if you're running into this!

    (ah, nevermind, it's back again)
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2021
  41. pistoleta

    pistoleta

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Posts:
    338
    I also had to remove version control to update to 1.8.0
     
unityunity