Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Collaborate causing a ProjectVersion mismatch?

Discussion in 'Unity Collaborate' started by jwvanderbeck, Sep 23, 2019.

  1. jwvanderbeck

    jwvanderbeck

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Posts:
    655
    I created a new project over the weekend on my PC at home and pushed it to Collab. The project was created and worked on in Unity 2019.2.6f1.

    Today I installed the same version of Unity on my Macbook and went to grab the project from the collab cloud. Upon doing so I got an error from Unity telling me the project from the cloud was using a different version of the editor (Before 5.0 it says).

    When I look at the files on disk that collab has grabbed, it shows an unknown project version in the version file:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. m_EditorVersion: UnknownUnityVersion
    2. m_EditorVersionWithRevision: UnknownUnityVersion
    Is there possibly some bug in Collab that is either losing the projectversion on push or losing it on pull?

     
  2. jwvanderbeck

    jwvanderbeck

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Posts:
    655
    To clarify on this. Obviously I can just click Continue in the error and let it go anyway. Since *I* know they were created with the same version there should be no issues, and I will confirm that here once it is done pulling and importing. (EDIT: Can confirm as expected ignoring the error was fine since the project was actually made in the same version)

    But that doesn't change the fact that there appears to be a bug here that could trip up some users and have potential other knock-ons. My guess right now is that under some condition the skeleton project collab makes before fetching is made incorrectly with an improper ProjectVersion.txt file. I suspect the one on the other end is fine but I won't be able to check that one for a bit.
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2019
  3. ryanc-unity

    ryanc-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    1,280
    Hi @jwvanderbeck, you're right that this could definitely cause confusion among some users. I went ahead and filed a bug around this behavior, which you can track here. Thanks for bringing this to our attention!