Search Unity

Collaborate 2.0.0-15 preview announced

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jeango, May 23, 2019.

1. jeango

jeango

2. andyz

andyz

I love Tortoise SVN outside of Unity as a file-system integrated Source control (for free in windows) and there are many collaboration tools out there.
    Is there any need for this or is it just another potential revenue stream?

3. Lars-Steenhoff

Lars-Steenhoff

Its based on Git now, so thats good

4. It was always based on Git from the get go.
    It's your job to decide. Take it or leave it whatever works for you. As a lone dev myself I use it, because it's simple and efficient for my needs. But I would choose an external version control if I had a team.

Ryiah likes this.
  5. Lars-Steenhoff

Lars-Steenhoff

• Leverage existing Git LFS technology to perform version control operations rather than custom logic, increasing stability for both small and large projects.
    Your correct, I meant without the custom logic.

Ryiah likes this.
  6. angrypenguin

angrypenguin

Personally I don't think so. There are solutions out there which are more flexible, more robust, industry standard and either free or more competitively priced. There are also systems out there which potentially fit "large projects and teams" much more effectively.

The only benefit about it I can think of is the "ease of use" factor. The thing is, existing solutions aren't especially hard to use. I have never heard someone say "I learned Git and then ditched it, it made my work harder". The problems with existing version control solutions are that newbies are unaware of the advantages and there's no single place to start if they want to give it a try.