Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. Join us on Dec 8, 2022, between 7 am & 7 pm EST, in the DOTS Dev Blitz Day 2022 - Q&A forum, Discord, and Unity3D Subreddit to learn more about DOTS directly from the Unity Developers.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Have a look at our Games Focus blog post series which will show what Unity is doing for all game developers – now, next year, and in the future.
    Dismiss Notice

Collab suggestion: Offer to delete newly created file when attempting to right click >> revert

Discussion in 'Unity Collaborate' started by MrLucid72, Aug 11, 2016.

  1. MrLucid72

    MrLucid72

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Posts:
    887
    For example:



    I reverted to a previous point -- however, a file still shows (if I revert, nothing should show at all - which is strange). I try to discard it, but it says the file has just been created. I cannot right click and delete file.

    In Git, discarding this would essentially delete the file without even showing an option - it's just assumed it's reverting to either the previous one or none at all.

    If you don't decide to do this, should at least give the option to delete. Sure I could open file explorer and do it manually, but convenience convenience :)

    PS -- What would cause a file show after restoring? If curious, the leftover item was an .asset file
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2016
    holliebuckets likes this.
  2. holliebuckets

    holliebuckets

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Posts:
    496
    @dylanh7244 If you have an orphan .meta file and its references still exist in Temp, Unity will resurrect the file. You could Delete your Unity Temp file but you will lose all temp references.

    I'll pass on your "Delete as an Option" feedback to @quixotic :)
     
    MrLucid72 and quixotic like this.