Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
Unity's version control component has been upgraded to Plastic SCM.

[Collab] GitRepoService::NameTakenError: The name of a file or directory is already taken: case must

Discussion in 'Unity Collaborate' started by JohnRossitter, Mar 5, 2017.

  1. JohnRossitter

    JohnRossitter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Posts:
    1,027
    Today I cant check anything in...every time I do, I get this error.
     
  2. Ryan-Unity

    Ryan-Unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    1,993
  3. JohnRossitter

    JohnRossitter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Posts:
    1,027
    Was able to resolve this issue.
    One team member moved a file from one location to another place.
    We moved the file back and it was able to check in again, but this seems like something to take a look at on your end.
     
  4. Ryan-Unity

    Ryan-Unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    1,993
    I'm glad that you were able to unblock yourselves. Conflicting move/rename operations are still buggy but we're working hard to iron them all out before Collab leaves beta. Thank you for bearing with us while we address these issues.
     
    JohnRossitter likes this.
  5. JohnRossitter

    JohnRossitter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Posts:
    1,027
    Good deal,
    I know I complain a lot, but its because our team uses it every day, almost all day.
    So, for us its almost mission critical.
     
    Ryan-Unity likes this.
  6. Ryan-Unity

    Ryan-Unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    1,993
    We really do appreciate that you are so vocal about what doesn't work. It helps us to make a better product for everyone. Especially for teams like yours that use Collab so often. Please keep letting us know if something doesn't work as well as you'd like it to.
     
  7. Karsten

    Karsten

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Posts:
    183
    @ryanic-unity This is still an issue to date in 2020.1.2f1 with Collab package version 1.3.9 - July 27, 2020.
    Renaming a folder for example from Prefabs to prefabs leads to the "NameTaken" error
     
  8. Firestorm200

    Firestorm200

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Posts:
    5