Search Unity

Collab 100% needs a "apply all prefabs" checkbox

Discussion in 'Unity Collaborate' started by MrLucid72, Apr 6, 2016.

  1. MrLucid72

    MrLucid72

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Posts:
    859
    My devs and I have been struggling with weird bugs for some time now because it's all-too-easy to not "apply" prefabs. Imagine 100s of prefabs all hierarchy'd down the line -- sure we can click apply on every one of them, IF we remember all of those we used ;)

    Very important! I believe this to be an essential addition to collab ~

    upload_2016-4-6_15-0-50.png
     
  2. lucvovan

    lucvovan

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    12
    oh, I thought saving the scene before publishing would apply the prefabs. I'll check it out! thanks for the info!
     
    MrLucid72 likes this.
  3. MrLucid72

    MrLucid72

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Posts:
    859
    I thought so too, originally ;D thanks for checking it out!
     
  4. lucvovan

    lucvovan

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    12
    Hey Dylanh, I'm not so sure what your problem is. After checking it out, the prefabs seems to work like they are supposed to and I wasn't able to lose data with Collaborate.

    I'm not 100% sure I understand your problem actually. At first, I thought you were saying you lose some data, so I was concerned, but it seems what you're asking is to bake your overwritten changes to the parent prefab. Which is a bit strange, as it's not sure you want to apply those changes to the other children of the parent.

    But I did a quick google search and I found this:
    http://answers.unity3d.com/questions/172601/how-do-i-apply-prefab-in-script-.html

    Maybe that would be enough for you.
     
    MrLucid72 likes this.
unityunity