Search Unity

Coding/Programming games & scope width

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by SynapticBytes, Oct 19, 2019.

1. SynapticBytes

SynapticBytes

Hi all,

I love games that involve coding, such as Core War, Robocode and Screeps. Not so much games such as Gary's Mod, but that's more an issue with my time constraints more than enjoyability. Even games like Screeps I have trouble finding time to play, but I still enjoy it.

I've been a programmer for 35 years both professionally and as a hobby, but due to personal issues, I haven't done any serious programming for the last 5 years. I picked up Unity about a month ago, and discovered MiniScript a couple of weeks ago. It's an elegant and graceful scripting engine that is perfect for building a programming game, so I am now brainstorming ideas.

My question is, how do people feel about the breadth of scope that a programming game allows? It seems to me there are 3 types :-

1. AI programming - you code your own intelligence into game objects that usually then go and battle one another to the death

2. Puzzle solving - you write code to solve puzzles presented, instead of the usual point & click puzzle solving

3. Learning games - games that teach others how to code

4. Building games (MineCraft and Gary's Mod etc) which I will ignore for this conversation as I feel they are a different beast.

The style I enjoy the most is the AI programming type, but I feel it has inherent limitations in that experienced people can steamroll new players, which is a big barrier to growing your player base, and there is the possibility that there is an optimal strategy, which once discovered, kills the game. I have thought of some minor variations on this, such as scripting your own in-game elements in single player games, such as maybe programming your own smart bombs in a strategy game, but whether that'd be enjoyable if it was just a side mission in a larger standard game, I'm not so sure.