Search Unity

1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only.

Please, do not make any changes to your username or email addresses at id.unity.com during this transition time.

It's still possible to reply to existing private message conversations during the migration, but any new replies you post will be missing after the main migration is complete. We'll do our best to migrate these messages in a follow-up step.

On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live.

Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

Question Coding Conventions

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by junior333istall, Feb 11, 2023.

1. junior333istall

junior333istall

So, since im a complete beginner at C# should i learn all about coding conventions or just learn the basic ones like Pascal and Camel Case?

2. Spy-Master

Spy-Master

It’s worth engraining generally accepted conventions in your mind as you go along, so you don’t need to adapt to things later. However, if you find that this is too difficult or distracting when you’re getting a handle on how to use the language in general, it’s fine to leave that to a later time. Proper reference materials should tell you what the accepted conventions are as you need them, anyway. Just know that for the most part, you’ll use pascal case for methods, properties, and classes, camel case for local variables, and start interfaces with “I”. For Unity specifically, you generally use camel case for fields.

Also, it would be worth taking advantages of the automatic naming suggestions, auto-formatter, and other intelligent suggestions in Visual Studio or Jetbrains Rider.

Some reference resources:
    https://unity.com/how-to/naming-and-code-style-tips-c-scripting-unity
    https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/dotnet/csharp/fundamentals/coding-style/coding-conventions