Search Unity

1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Coding an 2D action adventure game's combat

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by lylat, Jun 11, 2013.

1. lylat

lylat

Hi Guys,
    I've been lurking these forums for a long time now but it's my first time actually making the effort to post my own question.

Now to the problem...

Another and myself are trying to create an action adventure game with melee fighting and there are only 2 of us actually working on it, him on the art and myself on game design and programming. I come with questions about how to go about coding a 2d combat game. I don't need to know specifics about coding I'm familiar enough. I'm talking about how would i go about doing the collisions properly, what kind of system would I use for the combo's and what would be the best way to make sure that this is still possible to code as a single person while still being efficient.

Now the catch, each of the actions that can be done(combos/attacks) can be done in 3 different states(to the same effect) this is where a state machine gets tricky for me. I've thrown away 20 ideas and started from scratch 3 times each time thinking I had it then realizing it was stupid.

Thanks in Advance

~Lylat

2. mark-velthuis

mark-velthuis

Can you perhaps post 1 or 2 of your ideas. Specify what the reasons were for throwing them away (or why you thought they were stupid).

3. lylat

lylat

Thanks for replying Mark.

Well Initially I was using a system that would register directions of the input axis then combine those with attack inputs to make combos, see streetfighter, however the result was not looking like what I wanted not to mention the code became incomprehensible even to me with the amount of if statements involved that I just had to start again.