Search Unity

Code works, but could this be cleaner?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Adjaar7, Oct 11, 2020.

1. Adjaar7

Adjaar7

Hi there,

I got my code to work. It basically is for a 2D topdown ship game where wind changes speed. When you are in the wind you go faster, when you are against the wind you go slower, and when you are neither with or against the wind you go a regular speed.

I'm happy with how it runs, but it is a crap ton of if statements and I am still fairly new to game development. If anyone had a suggestion for how I could improve this code in the future, that would be awesome. Also if it looks great the way it is, I'd appreciate knowing that as well.

Here it is:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. void FixedUpdate()
    2.     {
    3.         RaycastHit2D hit = Physics2D.Raycast(transform.position, -transform.up);
    5.         //WIND SPEED CHANGE
    6.         if (hit.collider.name == "North")
    7.         {      
    8.             if (windDirection.currentWind == "N") //WHEN MOVING WITH WIND, SPEED BECOMES 15F
    9.             {
    10.                 accelerationPower = 15f;
    11.             }
    12.             else if (windDirection.currentWind == "S") //WHEN MOVING AGAINST WIND, SPEED BECOMES 5F
    13.             {
    14.                 accelerationPower = 5f;
    15.             }
    16.             else //WHEN NEITHER WITH OR AGAINST WIND, SPEED IS 10F
    17.             {
    18.                 accelerationPower = 10f;
    19.             }
    21.         }
    22.         else if (hit.collider.name == "South")
    23.         {
    24.             if (windDirection.currentWind == "S") //WHEN MOVING WITH WIND, SPEED BECOMES 15F
    25.             {
    26.                 accelerationPower = 15f;
    27.             }
    28.             else if (windDirection.currentWind == "N") //WHEN MOVING AGAINST WIND, SPEED BECOMES 5F
    29.             {
    30.                 accelerationPower = 5f;
    31.             }