Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Bug Code isn't working anymore

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by BraveDragonWolf, Jun 14, 2023.

  1. BraveDragonWolf

    BraveDragonWolf

    Joined:
    May 10, 2023
    Posts:
    10
    I had a problem with trying to stop the score count in my previous post. https://forum.unity.com/threads/how-to-stop-score-on-player-death.1447408/

    Thanks to that person who showed me what to put down. But, now I was trying to do a bit of editing with the game manager script, (I was trying to move the "GameOver" command from the player script to the game manager script since I thought it would make a bit of sense.) I couldn't get it to trigger the game over so, I didn't want to push any further. I tried reverting back to what I had in the game manager script with the code to stop the score count and all of a sudden I'm back to square one. The score will not stop upon player death...AGAIN. I have the right coding in place but for whatever reason, the code is being ignored or it's just not doing anything now.
     
  2. Brathnann

    Brathnann

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Posts:
    7,192
    Hopefully you had source control set up for easy reversing, however, if your code is exactly the same, it should be the exact same problem. Otherwise, repost your code, post any errors. Etc.

    If you're making changes and don't understand, come back and ask on here with your updated code.
     
  3. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    39,065
    It sounds like it is...

    Time for you to start debugging! Here is how you can begin your exciting new debugging adventures:

    You must find a way to get the information you need in order to reason about what the problem is.

    Once you understand what the problem is, you may begin to reason about a solution to the problem.

    What is often happening in these cases is one of the following:

    - the code you think is executing is not actually executing at all
    - the code is executing far EARLIER or LATER than you think
    - the code is executing far LESS OFTEN than you think
    - the code is executing far MORE OFTEN than you think
    - the code is executing on another GameObject than you think it is
    - you're getting an error or warning and you haven't noticed it in the console window

    To help gain more insight into your problem, I recommend liberally sprinkling
    Debug.Log()
    statements through your code to display information in realtime.

    Doing this should help you answer these types of questions:

    - is this code even running? which parts are running? how often does it run? what order does it run in?
    - what are the names of the GameObjects or Components involved?
    - what are the values of the variables involved? Are they initialized? Are the values reasonable?
    - are you meeting ALL the requirements to receive callbacks such as triggers / colliders (review the documentation)

    Knowing this information will help you reason about the behavior you are seeing.

    You can also supply a second argument to Debug.Log() and when you click the message, it will highlight the object in scene, such as
    Debug.Log("Problem!",this);


    If your problem would benefit from in-scene or in-game visualization, Debug.DrawRay() or Debug.DrawLine() can help you visualize things like rays (used in raycasting) or distances.

    You can also call Debug.Break() to pause the Editor when certain interesting pieces of code run, and then study the scene manually, looking for all the parts, where they are, what scripts are on them, etc.

    You can also call GameObject.CreatePrimitive() to emplace debug-marker-ish objects in the scene at runtime.

    You could also just display various important quantities in UI Text elements to watch them change as you play the game.

    Visit Google for how to see console output from builds. If you are running a mobile device you can also view the console output. Google for how on your particular mobile target, such as this answer or iOS: https://forum.unity.com/threads/how-to-capturing-device-logs-on-ios.529920/ or this answer for Android: https://forum.unity.com/threads/how-to-capturing-device-logs-on-android.528680/

    If you are working in VR, it might be useful to make your on onscreen log output, or integrate one from the asset store, so you can see what is happening as you operate your software.

    Another useful approach is to temporarily strip out everything besides what is necessary to prove your issue. This can simplify and isolate compounding effects of other items in your scene or prefab.

    Here's an example of putting in a laser-focused Debug.Log() and how that can save you a TON of time wallowing around speculating what might be going wrong:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/coroutine-missing-hint-and-error.1103197/#post-7100494

    "When in doubt, print it out!(tm)" - Kurt Dekker (and many others)

    Note: the
    print()
    function is an alias for Debug.Log() provided by the MonoBehaviour class.

    ------------------------------------------- This might prove helpful too:

    PROPERLY CONFIGURING AND USING ENTERPRISE SOURCE CONTROL

    I'm sorry you've had this issue. Please consider using proper industrial-grade enterprise-qualified source control in order to guard and protect your hard-earned work.

    Personally I use git (completely outside of Unity) because it is free and there are tons of tutorials out there to help you set it up as well as free places to host your repo (BitBucket, Github, Gitlab, etc.).

    You can also push git repositories to other drives: thumb drives, USB drives, network drives, etc., effectively putting a complete copy of the repository there.

    As far as configuring Unity to play nice with git, keep this in mind:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/prefab-links-keep-getting-dumped-on-git-pull.646600/#post-7142306

    I usually make a separate repository for each game, but I have some repositories with a bunch of smaller test games.

    Here is how I use git in one of my games, Jetpack Kurt:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/2-steps-backwards.965048/#post-6282497

    Using fine-grained source control as you work to refine your engineering:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/whe...grammer-example-in-text.1048739/#post-6783740

    Share/Sharing source code between projects:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/your-techniques-to-share-code-between-projects.575959/#post-3835837

    Setting up an appropriate .gitignore file for Unity3D:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/removing-il2cpp_cache-from-project.1084607/#post-6997067

    Generally the ONLY folders you should ever source control are:

    Assets/
    ProjectSettings/
    Packages/

    NEVER source control Library/ or Temp/ or Logs/
    NEVER source control anything from Visual Studio (.vs, .csproj, none of that noise)

    Setting git up with Unity (includes above .gitignore concepts):

    https://thoughtbot.com/blog/how-to-git-with-unity

    It is only simple economics that you must expend as much effort into backing it up as you feel the work is worth in the first place. Digital storage is so unbelievably cheap today that you can buy gigabytes of flash drive storage for about the price of a cup of coffee. It's simply ridiculous not to back up.

    If you plan on joining the software industry, you will be required and expected to know how to use source control.

    "Use source control or you will be really sad sooner or later." - StarManta on the Unity3D forum boards
     
  4. BraveDragonWolf

    BraveDragonWolf

    Joined:
    May 10, 2023
    Posts:
    10
    It's literally the same code as in my old post. But, I'm going to try debugging as "Kurk Dekker" wants me to do.
     
  5. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    39,065
    If so, try right-click reimport that script. It will recompile all.

    Either way, debugging will show where the code is failing.
     
  6. BraveDragonWolf

    BraveDragonWolf

    Joined:
    May 10, 2023
    Posts:
    10
    I appreciate your help. Unfortunately I kinda messed up a bit on my game and probably had to go back to an early version of it. It wasn't too bad but, I manage to do things over. Still it wasn't too bad enough to where I had to start all from scratch. The code is working and my scoring is behaving properly. I can kinda assume that it was on the "Object" side of the issue and not the coding for whatever reason. What I probably should have done was investigate the objects first.
     
  7. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    39,065
    Yaaaay! Glad you're back online.

    This is a super-valuable skill to have with Unity. I work with teams of others and when I have to fix a bug in someone else's UI, the first problem is finding even where the UI piece is in the hierarchy. Where is that button? Did they name it well? What script is supposed to control it? Is that script controlled by someone else?

    That's why with Unity code is only a tiny fraction of the problem. You can have a flawless error-free script connected perfectly into your scene with everything just-so and operational... then you decide "I will add some piece of UI" and you don't realize that UI has Raycast Target set and suddenly your touches don't work when you touch near that new thing... "WHAT IS GOING ON!?"

    You just get better and better at digging through scenes / prefabs.
     
  8. cofcof

    cofcof

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Posts:
    15
    People keep playing this off all the time maybe Unity is broken, Because I have had this so many times codes exactly the same working for the day never touch it then suddenly, or make a typo and Unity just wigs out and closes. Lots of people complained over the years. Unity was so good and stable upon release but each version just gets more buggy.

    It gets annoying to have to randomly install again or it freezes suddenly and rebuilds the whole project because you move something from one folder to another. I have literally had enemies walking down a path in a game I was working on the next day, no code changes stopped working. have not touched it in two days. Not even working on anything related to AI. No Errors, no warnings nothing, just nope just wants to walk to the one tile no matter what, even though I am sending the node data to Debug.Log and it sorts fine in the menu the first item in the Array is the right one closest one set the node to move too is 0 the first one, but no it walks to the last one every time I can change the node to whatever 1, 2, 3, nope still walk to the last.

    I have had multiple times during the project freezes, project refuses to open even though previous day working, uninstall reintall everything works fine then.
     
  9. Ryiah

    Ryiah

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    21,494
    Anecdotal evidence isn't that good for determining this because there are just as many people that have the exact opposite experience. Here's my anecdotal evidence: I've never seen it happen even once and I've been using Unity since before I made an account here.

    What were you moving? How did you move it? Did you do it inside of Unity? Or did you do it externally? All of these are important factors. Unity hates it when files are moved externally because it's tracking GUIDs for all of them and if you perform the move in say Windows Explorer it won't know that the file moved.
     
    Kurt-Dekker likes this.
  10. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2023
    Posts:
    262
    Code is just code, it it works in one editor it works in the other, unless something has happened to it, like public variables no longer being filled, for example.