Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Code-complete (or whatever it's called not working in VS 2017 v 15.3.3

Discussion in 'Code Editors & IDEs' started by unity-code7, Mar 23, 2022.

  1. unity-code7

    unity-code7

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
    Posts:
    31
    Hi there,

    I recently started learning Unity again (last week) and upon opening an existing script the code-complete function is not working. I haven't opened/used this since about 2017 (I think the year the Community Edition of VS was released). I can't get any of the API code to populate to use/auto tab. Any help? Thanks! =).
     
  2. unity-code7

    unity-code7

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
    Posts:
    31
    UPDATE:

    I found a solution in a YouTube vid. In case it helps anyone, its: Assets>Open C# Project. It loads something then Intellisense works! Thanks! =).
     
  3. unity-code7

    unity-code7

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
    Posts:
    31
    UPDATE again:

    It appears not all of Intellisense is working yet. I wasn't able to use a namespace I need. And when manually typed I get the error: The type or namespace InputSystem does not exist in the namespace UnityEngine (are you missing an assembly reference?). Any help? Thanks! =).
     
  4. unity-code7

    unity-code7

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
    Posts:
    31

    Another UPDATE:

    I'm working on two projects. One is the roll-a-ball project from Unity's tutorial, the other another game project. My issue referenced here is happening only with the roll-a-ball project (no Intellisense working) despite now trying several suggestions from YouTube. The other project has working Intellisense but one namespace I need is not working (same error as previous post above) not allowing me to play the game until all complier errors are fixed. I am now super confused! Any help? Thanks! =).