Search Unity

CLIMBING SYSTEM - [Official Thread]

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by diasrodrigo, Feb 26, 2018.

  1. sayginkarahan

    sayginkarahan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Posts:
    49
    Hi, your all solutions cause a lot of other issues like combat collision issues or open-world limits. Can you help with how can I enable move the character slightly while the player is falling down?
     
  2. SamRock

    SamRock

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2017
    Posts:
    250
    @diasrodrigo Any chance you could release integration with Invector Controller? I love your climbing system, but their Weapons,Melee and AI system is great too. Wish I could use them both
     
    khos likes this.
  3. diasrodrigo

    diasrodrigo

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Posts:
    420
    Hello. I think the best way is to avoid situations like this. Because character uses raycast to find ground and check slope. In your case, you have two slopes near to each other, and the capsule cast find one or another and check that is not possible to walk, because the slope is greater than 45° for example. To get an efficient way to solve this situation, you will need to code another way to find ground, with more than one capsule cast.
     
    SamRock likes this.
  4. diasrodrigo

    diasrodrigo

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Posts:
    420
    When I tried to integrate with Invector, it got buggy. I will probably check this possibility again.
     
    SamRock likes this.
  5. Tin-Aung-Khant

    Tin-Aung-Khant

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    33
  6. ml785

    ml785

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Posts:
    119
    Hi, is this compatible with Rigidbody-based characters?
     
  7. Tin-Aung-Khant

    Tin-Aung-Khant

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    33
    This uses Rigidbody.
     
    ml785 likes this.
  8. diasrodrigo

    diasrodrigo

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Posts:
    420
    Tin-Aung-Khant likes this.
  9. ml785

    ml785

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Posts:
    119
    Does this asset work by using Inverse Kinematics?
     
    diasrodrigo likes this.
  10. diasrodrigo

    diasrodrigo

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Posts:
    420
    Yes
     
    ml785 likes this.
  11. ml785

    ml785

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Posts:
    119
    Hi,
    Is there a way that you can aim where to jump based on where your Cursor is pointed at?
     
  12. ynm11

    ynm11

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2021
    Posts:
    57
  13. Lazy_Eight

    Lazy_Eight

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2019
    Posts:
    16
    Another Newbie here too: Just wanted to ask is there an easy way to disable player input for your system, for cinematic or animation-specific moments (i'm integrating with Playmaker as my coding game needs work)?
     
    diasrodrigo likes this.
  14. diasrodrigo

    diasrodrigo

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Posts:
    420
    Hello. Yes. There is a script in the character called Unity Input Manager. It handles all input conditions. You can disable it. For cinematic purposes I also recommend to disable Third Person System script and your character will not be playable until you enable it again.
     
  15. biscito

    biscito

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Posts:
    138
    is there a way to do a cut scene using timeline ?
     
    diasrodrigo likes this.
  16. diasrodrigo

    diasrodrigo

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Posts:
    420
    Yes. It's possible using Timeline. You can do as I said before, disable Third Person System script and make your own cutscene with Timeline.
     
    biscito likes this.
  17. biscito

    biscito

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Posts:
    138
    Code (CSharp):
    1.  public class AnimatorMoveTimelineFixer : MonoBehaviour
    2.     {
    3.         public Animator anim;
    4.         void Start()
    5.         {
    6.          //   if (Application.isEditor && Application.isPlaying) Destroy(this);
    7.             anim = GetComponent<Animator>();
    8.         }
    9.  
    10.         private void OnAnimatorMove()
    11.         {
    12.             if (anim != null)
    13.                 anim.ApplyBuiltinRootMotion();
    14.         }
    15.  
    16.         private void Reset()
    17.         { anim = GetComponent<Animator>(); }
    18.     }
    this code fixed my problem, with the root in timeline
     
  18. Lazy_Eight

    Lazy_Eight

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2019
    Posts:
    16
    Thanks very much for this. One last question is there a way to call the the OnControllerColliderHit in the:

    public override bool TryEnterAbility()
    {
    (here)
    }
    -section of an ability script? Or could it only work on the driving master script? I'm finding it difficult to call that function without essentially trying to call a function within a function.

    Thanks again
     
  19. Lazy_Eight

    Lazy_Eight

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2019
    Posts:
    16
    Basically i'm tying to make a wall jump ability - kind of like a rebounding jump or 'up-jump' such as in the Infamous games (They don't turn 180, rather they essentially use the wall to do a kind of double jump). Can't seem to get the system to play ball with entering the ability due to the wall, I have been trying to do use the Collider hit function as I mentioned above. I realise it would likely need to priortise this 'Wall Up Jump' state over the Falling state, maybe even the Jumping state.
     
  20. Tin-Aung-Khant

    Tin-Aung-Khant

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    33
    In New Unity Input System.
    There's no GetButtonDown GetButtonUp anymore
    I am not sure I am doing the right things with that.
    Hope Auther will update with New Input System.
    upload_2021-9-27_13-34-34.png
     
    diasrodrigo likes this.
  21. diasrodrigo

    diasrodrigo

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Posts:
    420
    In this case you can create a bool variable that turns true after on collider hit be called, and the use it inside try enter ability.
     
  22. diasrodrigo

    diasrodrigo

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Posts:
    420
    I didn't use the new input system yet. But as soon as I understand it, I will update the asset. Thank you
     
    Rallix and Tin-Aung-Khant like this.
  23. ml785

    ml785

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Posts:
    119
    Does this work with Horse Animset Pro?
    Has anyone managed to get it working together?
    A tutorial for this would be extremely useful if possible. Thank you.
     
  24. diasrodrigo

    diasrodrigo

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Posts:
    420
    Hello. As a publisher, unfortunately I don't offer this kind of integration with Horse Animset Pro. I think it's possible if you could disable and enable each system to avoid conflict. But I have no idea how Horse Animset is coded.
     
    ml785 likes this.
  25. diasrodrigo

    diasrodrigo

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Posts:
    420
    Hello guys.

    I'm almost finishing a script to use the new Input System in my assets. I hope to offer it next week and also make a youtube video explaining how to adapt to the new input.
     
    Tin-Aung-Khant and ChickenHero like this.
  26. diasrodrigo

    diasrodrigo

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Posts:
    420
    Hello

    A new version of Climbing System is already realeased. Now it has integration with the new Input System.
     
  27. Tin-Aung-Khant

    Tin-Aung-Khant

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    33
    Appreciate it.
    Test it out.

    (After added Controller Support)
    Working fine with Xbox Controller.
    Ps5 controller not working.(I need to search more info for this case)

    Maybe I need to figure out myself for couch co-op game.
    (I am not sure current update supports for that)
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2021
  28. Tin-Aung-Khant

    Tin-Aung-Khant

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    33


    At last,couch co-op possible PS5 controller mapping is still wrong.

    I edited your Adpater script.
    (But I am not sure I should do it XD)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 22, 2021
    diasrodrigo and SamRock like this.
  29. MightyAnubis

    MightyAnubis

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2018
    Posts:
    67
    it does not.
    You can integrate with Invector or other Addons for Malbers.
    but you can not integrate this here, to Malbers, Invector, Opsite or other Controllers.

    its just a Controller itself.
    So: it s so far usable, like you have no effort to do more than a little "climb around" in your Game.

    Shortly:
    There integrations to Invector possible, and done. This will work. But the Problem after this, is just the Performance.
    I think you can watch around, and integrate Invector, it s to made. ( need just some Work ) but the Performance after this, will let you go to invector just solo.

    Integration for Malbers will not work.
    his System need Parameters for the 3nd Person Controller, and a Bridge do communikate. This is not given here,
    and i think the Dev have 0 Interest in, to help you there.

    like ever. So shortly: this here is a Stand Alone solution, what is stand alone, and will
    not work with other Assets. Its not wanted to support other Assets, and it s not done.

    PPL from outside, fix and save a lot to do, what is "not possible" like it s called here.
    but at the End, you will step back because the Performance is just horrible after Changes.
    ( depents on your World + Game ) and it s a lot of Work.

    Malbers - there is the Question what you want to do, and what core you use.
    so if it s the whole "just" Controller from malbers, i see no chance.
    Malbers is a little complicatet to change it.
    Maybe: you can do, but i do not know a Solution out of the box.
     
    ml785 and SamRock like this.
  30. SamRock

    SamRock

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2017
    Posts:
    250
    I agree too, I was one of early adopters of @diasrodrigo's Climbing System. Supported him with his other assets as well, but eventually I had to switch to Invector as this controller has too many restrictions, I can't do proper weapons system, cant use it with an AI, I can't do any simple task's(like open door, pickup objects) without having to write tons of code.

    I still believe it's the best Climbing system in Unity market and the dev should rather focus on making it accessible with other popular Character controllers.
     
    redmotion_games and ml785 like this.
  31. MightyAnubis

    MightyAnubis

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2018
    Posts:
    67
    Yeah, it s nothing "so much" wrong with the Controller.
    What is hanging around are a few Things.

    I was in past here in Trouble, with the "Discision" "No refund, and no help for integration" - okay.
    So just a Guy ( i do not want to tell Names here ) in the Invector Channel - made it - He did an Integration.
    And the best of all: he did a Toturial for, and better than this: he did *NOT NEED JUST TO WRITE 1 LINE
    OF CODE FOR"

    and it works.
    That s all the Dev here, is not willing to do.

    So at the End, you get a "Climbing Controller", but there other Solutions around. Last Time a Asset was relesed on Github ( i do not tell what - here ) what can be includet in the Most Controllers - and doing the same - ( hm, for free... )

    So , for Real: if you want to use - this - with a Weapon for Example, you have to pay twice. This is not the big Deal
    IF ..:

    yeah: IF ...
    if this "pay 2 times" really worth it. But it s not. Just you get a Weapon System, that s it.
    There is eaven no solution a real Controller needs, for example: Swimming, flying, useful Trigger Systems,
    and a lot more than "just climb".

    like i wrote. depents on your Game, what you want, and if it s worth to you.
    The most Problem with is the Refund Politicy.

    if you buy, you lost if you cant use. There will no Refund. In the whole Time in Assetstore, i hit this Problem
    Exactly *ONE TIME*

    ... here. And i own a HUGE ammount of Assets, a - unbelivable huge ...
    but, dont cares. Just :
    the Asset himself, it s a solution for Climb.
    and it s stand alone.

    if you want to do a game climbing around, it can be helpful. If your game needs more, you will have more Problems to solve, than without this.

    if you ask for Integration to a working System, Dev says: "NO".
    if you ask for Help, Dev will only say. "Asset work like written in Discription", that s it.
    And if see it, and say: "Hm, sorry it s not really useful in this State" dev will say: "No refund"

    That s it.
    Hm. In games is more possible than just climb. Climb is just 5% of a Game, if you not want to do Climb Championship and or an "100% Assasains Creed" Clone of the past.

    dont cares.
    It is what it is. and i think it will never be more. Waiting for an Integration - i think this will fail.
    There is 0 Interest in given here, to include other Works.
    but also no solution here, for a full Working Game Controller with enugh possibilitys to make an individual Game, what can do more than climb.

    For me it s one of the really less "Fail buys" i did in the Store.
    and by side of 2 HDRP Assets because i never use HDRP, one of the only 3 Hidden Assets in my list. LOL. Maybe, sometimes you pay scool money.
    here was my case.

    that s it.
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2021
  32. Tin-Aung-Khant

    Tin-Aung-Khant

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    33

    How about buying Game Creator 2(Beta right now).
    It comes with better supports since they are big developers.

    This Dias Game Ability System Base is strong.
    I recommend you to read his source codes and try to make better Ability System.

    I am sure we cant make games with low efforts.
    We cant rely everything on publishers.
    Coz they never promised to fill our all needs.

    Btw I think we need to move on DOTS in future for sake of performances.
    Like this one.
    https://assetstore.unity.com/packages/tools/physics/rival-dots-character-controller-195567
     
    diasrodrigo likes this.
  33. ml785

    ml785

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Posts:
    119
    I agree integrations are lacking but I think it's the best climbing system on the market so hopefully it keeps building =]
     
    diasrodrigo likes this.
  34. MightyAnubis

    MightyAnubis

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2018
    Posts:
    67

    no, to late for me. I stack into my Project, and i need to go forward. To rewind all to 0 is not a solution.

    GameMaker is not my thing, because: i want the Control over things i have inside my project,
    and not Assets what "doing something" and you need Months to understand, how they are Connectet.
    enugh problems to solve here.

    Hm.
    "an own Controller" yeah, you can do, but it s also a Matter of Time, i think.

    @ml785 ah, there other Things also good.
    There also controllers, that are developt really well.

    it s just an old Asset. So never tell it "the best", because it s like in Wild West, other Guy is always faster with the gun you think...
     
  35. bestbardtw

    bestbardtw

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Can someone teach me how to join the ability to push objects
    I tried many methods but failed
     
  36. Tin-Aung-Khant

    Tin-Aung-Khant

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    33
    Theres something we are missing with this asset.
    Is 8 direction climbing system
    (Now we can only do 4 directions)

    Wish we can do free climbing like genshin impact or sth

    Can we know what is the limitations to do that?
     
  37. razzraziel

    razzraziel

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Posts:
    396
    There are missing scripts in your scene.

     
    diasrodrigo likes this.
  38. diasrodrigo

    diasrodrigo

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Posts:
    420
    That's because some models were made with ProBuilder. But this is not a error, just a warning.
     
  39. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    hay i m using 2.5D view in Editor player is working smoothly but in mobile player stuck and joystick is not working responsively
     
  40. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    stuck
     

    Attached Files:

  41. redmotion_games

    redmotion_games

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Posts:
    84
    I want the character model to react to being hit by a projectile. I'm considering adding a new ability to interrupt movement and play an animation, then hand back control (or just play the animation on the character's top half). How would I tell the ProjectileHitAbility to enter when the player is hit? Thanks.
    Edit: I added a new state to animator called Projectile hit.

    Used OnCollisionEnter to detect a projectile collision to set a wasHit bool to true.

    Set Abilities to Ignore to Freelocomotion.

    Created an ability called ProjectileHitAbility with these entries:
    Code (CSharp):
    1.  
    2.  
    3.        void Start()
    4.         {
    5.         wasHit = false;
    6.         }
    7.  
    8.         public override bool TryEnterAbility()
    9.         {
    10.             if (m_System.IsGrounded && wasHit == true)
    11.             {
    12.                 return true;
    13.             }
    14.             else
    15.             {
    16.                  return false;
    17.             }
    18.         }
    19.  
    20.        public override void OnEnterAbility()
    21.         {
    22.             base.OnEnterAbility();
    23.             m_FinishOnAnimationEnd = true;
    24.         }
    25.  
    26.         public override void OnExitAbility()
    27.         {
    28.             base.OnExitAbility();
    29.             wasHit = false;
    30.         }
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2021
  42. lolium

    lolium

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Posts:
    33
    Hi, after i've setup the character how do i adjust the model position? it's too high for my model.

    Screenshot 2021-11-29 091321.png

    i have tried to set the hand offset parameter but that just makes the character bneding his hands weirdly.
    Screenshot 2021-11-29 091427.png

    i want to be able to lower the entire skeleton but couldnt figure out a way.
     
  43. biscito

    biscito

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Posts:
    138
    hi, i want to force use my ability slide but only trigger from a collider, how do i use EnterAbility ?

    private void OnTriggerEnter(Collider other)
    { TPS.EnterAbility( ??????? )
     
  44. diasrodrigo

    diasrodrigo

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Posts:
    420
    You can adjust it in the Climbing Ability. There are two fields to fix it. Offset for brace climb and offset for hand climb:

    upload_2021-12-2_12-21-32.png

    In your case you need to adjust Y values
     
  45. diasrodrigo

    diasrodrigo

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Posts:
    420
    No, this way will not work. To use trigger, you can create a simple bool var, when you enter, you set this var to true. Then, in TryEnterAbility method, you do as following:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. protected override bool TryEnterAbility()
    2. {
    3. return hasTriggered;
    4. }
     
  46. Rod-Galvao

    Rod-Galvao

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Posts:
    210
    Does it work with Opsive's character controllers?
     
  47. JC_LEON

    JC_LEON

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    520
    yes and there is even a tutorial for it--go on opsive discord channel in 3d party addon section and you will find it
     
  48. Sergey-Mironov

    Sergey-Mironov

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    Hey
    I bought the Climbing System plugin
    Before purchasing, I tested a demo scene (Windows EXE file).
    The camera works well in the demo scene (in the EXE file). Especially when you crawl.
    But in the examples that come with the plug-in, the camera is poorly configured. She twitches, penetrates the walls. and generally behaves like crazy.
    Can I get a demo scene that will be shown in an EXE file with a well-tuned camera?
     
  49. ml785

    ml785

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Posts:
    119
    Hi,
    Is there a way to re-calibrate the Climbing System skeleton/IK (?) after switching out the model? Mine used to work great but after I switched the model, I can't climb up certain obstacles and just generally don't move properly.

    Edit: Actually I don't need help on this anymore! :) The solution was just to scale up my model like 2x in Blender. It moves normally now.
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2021
    diasrodrigo likes this.
  50. carmofin

    carmofin

    Joined:
    May 13, 2017
    Posts:
    116
    Hey, I'm considering getting this asset, the problem is, how can I know weather its even possible to integrate it into my character controller?