Search Unity

Clientside/Serverside logic oppinions

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by Tyrannmisu, Oct 23, 2018.

1. Tyrannmisu

Tyrannmisu

I have some experience using unity but i would still describe myself as an unity-beginner.
    Myself and some friends just started to develop an multiplayer game and i find myself struggling to decide which logic should be done the server and which on the client (and in what way).

I understood the basic concept of Cmd/Rpc and SycVars.

I already read some articles and oppinions regarding this topic, but i would love to get some oppinions and insight from people that are more experienced than i am.

What are we trying to accomplish?
    Basically we are trying to learn something and we don't really know if the game turns out.
    Our goal is to develop an RTS-Game which allows a seamless transition to an ego-shooter to control units.
    So basically we have nav-agents that are synced over network , but also manual movement that has to be sycned.

What do we have so far ?
    Right now we are only focusing on multiplayer, so that we are already spawning buildings and units via the server and are syncing unit movements.

The units are also able to target enemies and shoot at them (with a verrrryyy basic AI) and it is also possible to control a unit in ego perspective and shoot manually.

How is it implemented?
    I don't know if any of this is a good idea, feel free to criticize and give your oppinions.
    It would be really helpful if you could provide information (on how and) why you would implemented something in a specific way.

• Unit movement in RTS View
      • Player clicks on a destination
      • Command is called that sets a destination on the server NavMeshAgent
      • Command calls RPC that sets a destination for all client objects
      • The Unit prefab also has a networkTransform (this is probably a bad idea?)
    • Unit Movement EGO View (same prefab/object as RTS Unit)
      • NavAgent is disabled