Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Third Party Clearing doubts before starting with Gamesparks, Playfab, Photon

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by tobicreaper, Feb 21, 2016.

1. tobicreaper

tobicreaper

Hi, first of all I would like to tell you that I am new with multiplayer games. I have a few questions that I need to get answered before I can start with my game. My requirements are as follows:-
    I want to make a realtime(or turnbased, its a card game and I cant decide what to chose) multiplayer game in which the user logs in/registers using facebook. Once registered he can play matches against random opponents or his own friends, He should also be able to see the scores/ranks of top players in the world. Just like in mini clip pool all the fb images of the users are displayed in the leaderboards and when two players are playing against each other (if they are friends on facebook or not, the pictures are still displayed). Will all this be possible with Gamesparks alone ? or would I need something like photon to take care of the realtime multiplayer while gamesparks would be used to take care of the data storage, leaderboards and stuff. Or is Gamesparks alone sufficient. If not then should I use photon+playfab or photon + gamesparks ?

My other question is
    I have a user "X".
    X enters the game and registers with facebook. I get his profile pic from fb and show in the game,
    X wants to see the top players in the world (who may or may not be his friends on facebook)
    X sees there are 4 players in total A,B,C and D (who are not his friends on facebook)
    How will I show the images of A,B,C and D to X inside that leaderboard ?
    is this possible ? I see this hapenning in mini clip's 8 ball pool.