Search Unity

Cleaning up the server?

Discussion in 'Addressables' started by henkjan, Feb 17, 2020.

1. henkjan

henkjan

We have implemented the addressables sytem and stored our addressable asset bundles on our server by building addressables through Unity Build Cloud and than upload them using FTP called by the post process of Unity Build Cloud.

But one thing isn't clear for me: How do I know which asset bundles 'belong' to which Unity build?
    I see unique identifiers in the names of the bundles but I don't know how to figure out which bundles are obsolete.

We have a system where we can push new unity version to our customers so we know which builds aren't used anymore. So we like to make something that cleans up old bundles. But how to identify them?

Or maybe our approach is wrong and the addressables team has some different strategy in mind that I'm not aware of....?

2. henkjan

henkjan

Nobody knows?

3. pahe4retro

pahe4retro

Hey. I'm very new to this one too, but if I understand correctly, you should be able to see which assetbundles you need from your catalogue. If the keys and hashvalues in your catalogue correspond to one existing file, then you know that you need it. Basically what you need to do then is: get all filenames from your AB folder, check if they are inside your catalogue. All others can be deleted then.

Does this help you?

4. henkjan

henkjan

Thanks for answering. But this means I have to store all hash values from a build in our database and see if which ones are still used?
    Maybe better to store the asset bundles in a unique (per build) directory. So when we know a build isn't used anymore we can delete the hole directory....

This would mean that, after UBC has build a new version, I have to find a way to change the RemoteLoadPath...

5. pahe4retro

pahe4retro