Search Unity

Cinemachine Metroidvania/Megaman Style Camera

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by JonnyRage, Jun 14, 2018.

1. JonnyRage

JonnyRage

I'm new to Unity and Cinemachine, so forgive me if this is a stupid question or has been answered before. I am trying to create a camera system for a 2d platformer using cinemachine that is similar to Mega Man, Shovel Knight, or Celeste where the camera kind of snaps to the new area/level once the player crosses a certain boundary and there is even a little bit of slow down during this transition. I also want to be able to have irregular sized rooms such as narrow corridors you might fall down or traverse or odd shaped rooms. I tried creating multiple vCams to handle this. For example in my prototype I have one large horizontal room and then a drop off down a narrow hallway. I created two separate polygon collider 2d components for each room and marked them as triggers and also 2 vCams. Let's call the objects that have the colliders "Starting Room" and "Big Drop". I set these as the Bounding shapes on each of my cameras named respectively 'vCamStartingRoom' and 'vCamBigDrop' the confine mode is 2D and confine screen edges is checked. The priority is the same on both cameras (the default priority of 10). When the player collides with the trigger 'Big Drop' I have a script attached that was trying to do the following:

public class VCamController : MonoBehaviour
    {
    private GameObject startcam;
    private GameObject transitionCam;
    void Start()
    {
    startcam = GameObject.Find("vCamStartingRoom");
    transitionCam = GameObject.Find("vCamBigDrop");

}
    private void OnTriggerEnter2D(Collider2D collision)
    {
    if(collision.CompareTag("Player"))
    {
    Debug.Log("The Player Entered");
    startcam.SetActive(false);
    transitionCam.SetActive(true);
    }

}
    }