Search Unity

Cinemachine Luigis Mansion 3 Style Camera

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by alber_developer, Jan 14, 2022.

1. alber_developer

alber_developer

I'm new to Cinemachine, so forgive me if this is a stupid question or has been answered before. I am trying to create a camera system for a 3d platformer using Cinemachine that is similar to Luigi's Mansion 3. Here you can see an short video (from minute 5 to 6:30 aprox):

I have thought about to create a "horizontal" dolly track for each area, and a trigger collider between doors to translate the camera... but I look this solution very heavy and too difficult to implement. I tried that and so the result wasn't that I've expected. This may there another simply solution with Cinemachine?

PS: Some areas are 'vertical', so the technique must be the same but in Z axis.

Thank you so much!

2. gaborkb

gaborkb

Unity Technologies

You can achieve this with a FramingTransposer, Confiner and CinemachineTriggerVolumes.

Check these example scenes: 2DConfiner, 2D Zoom, 2DTargetGroup, Trigger volume, CameraMagnets.

You can get our example scenes from the Package Manager. Click on Cinemachine, and download our samples.
    Samples.png

If you get stuck or need more info don't hesitate to reach out ;)

Last edited: Jan 14, 2022
    Gregoryl likes this.
  3. alber_developer

alber_developer

okay, thank you for the initial resources to get started. I'll try it.

Best regards.

4. gaborkb

gaborkb

Unity Technologies

Were you able to setup your cameras correctly? Let us know if you are stuck at and need help ;)

5. alber_developer

alber_developer

Hello gaborkb, I didn't get it at all, my environment is in fact 3D, I changed the confiner2D for confiner3D and the following zoom doesn't act as I want.

Thank you!

6. gaborkb

gaborkb

Unity Technologies

Please provide more information on what you got (images, setups, descriptions), and what's not working / where you are stuck. :)

7. alber_developer