Search Unity

Resolved Cinemachine Confiner 2D conflicts with Lookahead

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by _eternal, Jul 19, 2021.

1. _eternal

_eternal

Hey,

I'm new to Cinemachine. Currently trying to integrate it into my existing project (2D platformer). I love the lookahead feature, but it seems to contradict the confiner at times.

What I mean is, let's say you're falling quickly, and lookahead y is enabled because we want the player to see where they're falling. But, we also have a confiner surrounding the pit. When you land at the bottom of the pit, the confiner would adjust the camera so that only the nearest ground tile is visible (otherwise the whole bottom half of your screen would be ground).

In this situation, the lookahead seems to overshoot the constraints, and then the constraints kick in to pull the camera back to normal.

This probably shouldn't happen, right? I understand that the lookahead is predicting where you'll be in a few frames, but it seems to be making this prediction without accounting for the confiner.

Also, I know that we can make the confiner kick in instantly by setting damping to 0, but that doesn't work in my situation. If we walk from one room to another, I don't want the camera to instantly jump to the new room; rather, I change the confiner to the new room, and I allow the camera to catch up at its own pace, based on the damping setting.

Here's a visual example of what I mean :

You can see how the camera reveals the secret passage at the bottom-left of the cave when constraint damping is greater than 0.

gaborkb likes this.
  2. gaborkb

gaborkb

Unity Technologies

Hey,

Thank you for the detailed bug report! I could reproduce the bug.

To fix this bug, use CinemachineConfiner2D instead of CinemachineConfiner with 2D mode. CinemachineConfiner2D extension, in general, is an improved and faster version of CinemachineConfiner - mode: 2D. CinemachineConfiner2D is available from Cinemachine 2.7.2.