Search Unity

Cinemachine Bug with PostProcessing Extension

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by Vallar, Apr 24, 2019.

  1. Vallar

    Vallar

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Posts:
    145
    Hey,

    I am currently using the latest Unity version 2019.1.0f2 with Cinemachine 2.3.3 we have a couple of camera objects (Cinemachine ones -- both are virtual cameras) that we'd like to add Post Processing to.

    They are both inside a prefab, I navigate to the cameras, choose "Add Extension" and then choose the PostProcessing option. I save my changes to the prefab and add the profile I want. I save again. I exit prefab mode then open the prefab again. All the PostProcessing extensions are automatically removed and replaced with "Missing Script" error.

    I removed Cinemachine from the project (from PackMan) and installed it again. Same issue. We tried on different devices so far and it is the same result on this project. Any idea what the issue might be?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    2,501
  3. Vallar

    Vallar

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Posts:
    145
  4. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    2,501
    Vallar likes this.
  5. wannax

    wannax

    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    Posts:
    2
  6. Coltrain

    Coltrain

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Posts:
    6
    This bug essentially wrecks completely the entire workflow for my project's cut-scenes after the laborious process of upgrading to 2019. Is there any way to assign the post processing extension via scripting to avoid the risk of hundreds of virtual cameras becoming detached at any moment? Or any safe practices to avoid the bug? This is a complete disaster.
     
  7. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    2,501
    The bug relates to conditionally compiled scripts. Until the bug is fixed, you can work around it by removing the conditional compilation from the scripts involved. In CM, you can do this by embedding CM into your project, and modifying the PostProcessing extension script to remove the global #if statement that surrounds the code.
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2019
  8. Coltrain

    Coltrain

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Posts:
    6
    Thank you! That's a real life saver for me.
     
    Gregoryl likes this.