Search Unity

  1. Improved Prefab workflow (includes Nested Prefabs!), 2D isometric Tilemap and more! Get the 2018.3 Beta now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Let us know a bit about your interests, and if you'd like to become more directly involved. Take our survey!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Cinemachine and Post processing stack

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by Mbcburt, Oct 16, 2017.

  1. Mbcburt

    Mbcburt

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Posts:
    8
    I have a basic timeline with cinemachine main camera. I have 2 virtual cameras that i am blending between in the timeline. My issue is how can I blend the cameras post processing fx. Right now it is a harsh cut between the post processing from one camera to another. How do get a nice smooth blend from one camera's post fx to the other?
     
  2. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    1,637
  3. Mbcburt

    Mbcburt

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Posts:
    8
    Thank you, V2 works and looks great!
     
  4. churi24

    churi24

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Posts:
    61
    Hi, could I use this on production?. I tried to modify the parameters on the post processing in game, but if I close the scene, the changes on the post are recorded, something that I dont want. I think the best way is blending between two post and leave this job to cinemachine.
     
  5. Adam_Myhill

    Adam_Myhill

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    312
    Both CM and the PPSv2 are being used in numerous productions.

    Since the PPSv2 profile is an asset, even changes made during gameplay will be saved - it's actually updating the file as the changes happen. That's a Unity thing, for good and for, sometimes, bad. One way around it is if you're using some kind of source control, to revert the file when needed. Kind of a pain.

    Or you can duplicate the file on runtime - use and modify that one and then destroy it at the end. Here's a link to stuff which will help with this idea: https://github.com/keijiro/PostProcessingUtilities

    Or, just like you said use CM to blend between two profiles, or use the post processing volumes and get the changes through blending VS manually pushing values (and then getting them saved).

    Let us know how it goes
     
    churi24 likes this.
  6. churi24

    churi24

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Posts:
    61
    Cool, I will take the clone option first because we have the project on Unity 2017.1.0f3 and we are close to release a demo. In a separate branch with Unity 2017.2 I will test the option of blend with cinemachine. Keijiro made a great work, is similar to what I made, but the radical difference is in the clone. Thanks for answer!
     
  7. cgydev

    cgydev

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    Recently shifted to PPSv2 and having some trouble getting post-process to animate. Had a few questions on those

    1. Is there anything similar to PostProcessingUtilities for PPSv2 ?
    2. Is there a way to animate individual values of PostProcessingProfile for a single volume ?
     
  8. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    1,637