Search Unity

  1. Get all the Unite Berlin 2018 news on the blog.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2018.2 has arrived! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We're looking for your feedback on the platforms you use and how you use them. Let us know!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. ARCore is out of developer preview! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Magic Leap’s Lumin SDK Technical Preview for Unity lets you get started creating content for Magic Leap One™. Find more information on our blog!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Cinemachine and motion blur pops with cuts

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by mradfo21, Jul 30, 2018.

  1. mradfo21

    mradfo21

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Posts:
    166
    hey so I'm wondering if anyone has a solution for cutting without motion blur artifacts?

    Cinemachine causes a frame (or a few?) of blurring between camera cuts. Its quite jarring and pulls you right out of any cutscene. Is there some way of not creating this blurred frame or two when doing a cut.

    heres an example (yeah.. its S***.. its WIP). Notice when we cut between camera it feels really jarring?




    Frame A
    upload_2018-7-29_17-40-23.png


    Motion Blur Frame
    upload_2018-7-29_17-40-44.png


    Desired Cut
    upload_2018-7-29_17-41-11.png


    the timeline setup producing the cut:

    upload_2018-7-29_17-41-51.png


    has anyone figured out a solution to this?



    this is my desired level of fidelity for cuts - notice theres no motion blur flashes

     
  2. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    1,412
    If you do the motion blur with the Post Processing package, then this is taken care of. CM Brain fires an event when it generates a camera cut, and a handler on this event resets the temporal effects. To make this work, you need a PostProcessing layer on the Unity camera.

    How are you implementing motion blur?
     
  3. mradfo21

    mradfo21

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Posts:
    166
    that sounds exactly like what i want! Weirdly im using the standard Unity motion blur and the standard Unity post processing stack 2.0

    upload_2018-7-30_8-34-40.png

    upload_2018-7-30_8-35-7.png


    do you think it doesn't work with the new post processing stack ?
     
  4. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    1,412
    You need to import the CM PostProcessing adaptor package:

    upload_2018-7-30_13-27-41.png
     
  5. mradfo21

    mradfo21

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Posts:
    166
    ah! interesting! okay, will do!