Search Unity

  1. Improved Prefab workflow (includes Nested Prefabs!), 2D isometric Tilemap and more! Get the 2018.3 Beta now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Let us know a bit about your interests, and if you'd like to become more directly involved. Take our survey!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Cinemachine and motion blur pops with cuts

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by mradfo21, Jul 30, 2018.

  1. mradfo21

    mradfo21

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Posts:
    181
    hey so I'm wondering if anyone has a solution for cutting without motion blur artifacts?

    Cinemachine causes a frame (or a few?) of blurring between camera cuts. Its quite jarring and pulls you right out of any cutscene. Is there some way of not creating this blurred frame or two when doing a cut.

    heres an example (yeah.. its S***.. its WIP). Notice when we cut between camera it feels really jarring?




    Frame A
    upload_2018-7-29_17-40-23.png


    Motion Blur Frame
    upload_2018-7-29_17-40-44.png


    Desired Cut
    upload_2018-7-29_17-41-11.png


    the timeline setup producing the cut:

    upload_2018-7-29_17-41-51.png


    has anyone figured out a solution to this?



    this is my desired level of fidelity for cuts - notice theres no motion blur flashes

     
  2. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    1,637
    If you do the motion blur with the Post Processing package, then this is taken care of. CM Brain fires an event when it generates a camera cut, and a handler on this event resets the temporal effects. To make this work, you need a PostProcessing layer on the Unity camera.

    How are you implementing motion blur?
     
  3. mradfo21

    mradfo21

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Posts:
    181
    that sounds exactly like what i want! Weirdly im using the standard Unity motion blur and the standard Unity post processing stack 2.0

    upload_2018-7-30_8-34-40.png

    upload_2018-7-30_8-35-7.png


    do you think it doesn't work with the new post processing stack ?
     
  4. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    1,637
    You need to import the CM PostProcessing adaptor package:

    upload_2018-7-30_13-27-41.png
     
  5. mradfo21

    mradfo21

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Posts:
    181
    ah! interesting! okay, will do!