Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.1 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Cinemachine and motion blur pops with cuts

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by mradfo21, Jul 30, 2018.

  1. mradfo21

    mradfo21

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Posts:
    193
    hey so I'm wondering if anyone has a solution for cutting without motion blur artifacts?

    Cinemachine causes a frame (or a few?) of blurring between camera cuts. Its quite jarring and pulls you right out of any cutscene. Is there some way of not creating this blurred frame or two when doing a cut.

    heres an example (yeah.. its S***.. its WIP). Notice when we cut between camera it feels really jarring?




    Frame A
    upload_2018-7-29_17-40-23.png


    Motion Blur Frame
    upload_2018-7-29_17-40-44.png


    Desired Cut
    upload_2018-7-29_17-41-11.png


    the timeline setup producing the cut:

    upload_2018-7-29_17-41-51.png


    has anyone figured out a solution to this?



    this is my desired level of fidelity for cuts - notice theres no motion blur flashes

     
  2. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    2,389
    If you do the motion blur with the Post Processing package, then this is taken care of. CM Brain fires an event when it generates a camera cut, and a handler on this event resets the temporal effects. To make this work, you need a PostProcessing layer on the Unity camera.

    How are you implementing motion blur?
     
  3. mradfo21

    mradfo21

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Posts:
    193
    that sounds exactly like what i want! Weirdly im using the standard Unity motion blur and the standard Unity post processing stack 2.0

    upload_2018-7-30_8-34-40.png

    upload_2018-7-30_8-35-7.png


    do you think it doesn't work with the new post processing stack ?
     
  4. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    2,389
    You need to import the CM PostProcessing adaptor package:

    upload_2018-7-30_13-27-41.png
     
  5. mradfo21

    mradfo21

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Posts:
    193
    ah! interesting! okay, will do!
     
  6. olix4242

    olix4242

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Posts:
    1,321
    How can we catch this event?
    Also, I have some pretty complex situation when I have to manually scrub the timeline many times in one update (this is needed by my Deckard rendering plugin for estimation of correct motion blur). I have to know if any of the manually scrubbed frames fall into a different cinemachine shot. So, probably a function that lets me know what cinemachine shot is being used will do just fine.
     
  7. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    2,389