Search Unity

1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

cinemachine and animation from other software

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by netpost, Mar 3, 2019.

1. netpost

netpost

Hello to all,

My apologizes if this is a dumb question, Newbie here.... :)

When using Cinemachine with looped animated clip from Unity my camera follow my character without any problem but if I use an imported animation from another software ( Iclone 7), it does not work. It seems like the camera is stuck looking and at the origin of the animation, a bit like cinemachine does not understand that my character is moving (walking). Any help would be greatly apreciated.

Thank you.

2. Gregoryl

Gregoryl

Unity Technologies

It sounds like your animation is being exported in such a way that the root is static and only the mesh vertices move around. If you can get it to export the root motion plus vertex motion relative to that, then CM will be able to track that. You can't directly get CM to track a vertex in your mesh. It needs a transform as a target.

3. netpost

netpost

It makes sense. Thank you for the quick reply Gregory.

4. netpost

netpost

In this case the imported animation wasn't the problem. I solved the problem in Unity by setting the root transform position (XZ) to "base upon original" in the animation clip inspector, you also have to uncheck bake into pose. Than CM will follow the mesh animation transform. Hope this help someone else. :)

Dan_Miller and Gregoryl like this.
  5. Dan_Miller

Dan_Miller

It helped me although I haven't got to that point yet. So far I've only been testing importing iClone 7 motions, with facial mocap and some movement. So what you're mentioning here will be helpful, thanks.