Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.1 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Unity Choosing between Collaborate’s 1.2.16 and 2.0-Preview-15 Packages

Discussion in 'Unity Collaborate' started by StaceyH, May 23, 2019.

  1. StaceyH

    StaceyH

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2018
    Posts:
    39
    We’ve just released an update to the Collaborate’s 2.0 package series, named 2.0-Preview-15. The package has two notable changes - it removes the “checking for changes” blocking dialog and also introduces a manual rescan button as the only mechanism for pulling in newly modified files. The full release notes can be found here.

    Given this change in experience, the 2.0-preview-15 package will live alongside the existing 1.2.16 package as an option. Here’s how you can decide which to use:
    • 1.2.16 is a good option for smaller projects or teams who do not mind the “Checking for Changes” blocking dialog box. The service will continue to automatically pull in newly modified files without additional action needed.

    • 2.0-Preview-15 is a good option for larger projects or teams who found the “Checking for Changes” blocking dialog to be highly irritating. The service will no longer automatically pull in newly modified files. Instead, you will need to trigger a scan for potential changes via the “rescan” button. The rescan will not present a blocking dialog.
    As we mention in the “The First Steps to a New Collaborate” blog post, 2.0-Preview-15 marks the end of the “old Collaborate” era. Both packages will be put into sustainment mode with a high bar for fixes. Moving forward, we will start fresh with a creating a new and highly improved Collaborate that is stable, feature rich and will work great with large projects and teams.
     
  2. metalkat

    metalkat

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Posts:
    28
    For large projects, what about some hybrid config that we could provide specific folders to be constantly checking for changes and others to be triggered manually?

    Also,
    I would add a rescan option on selected folders like you already have the See Diff and Revert opts

     
    bigbrainz and bradunity like this.
  3. pvloon

    pvloon

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Posts:
    586
    How come Git LFS manages to track changes just fine, but Colloborate 2.0 can't? Are there still large differences between Git LFS and Unity's Collab 2.0 backend?

    Anyway 2.0 does look great, that little video of the new UI looks so much smoother Collab 1.0 ever was (die JavaScript die).
     
    Rich_A likes this.
  4. MattT5

    MattT5

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Posts:
    47
    If I may ask, what is the performance of the two package options with respect to the 'long hang after updating' problem? For us, this is more frustrating than the 'checking for changes' issue. (Don't get me wrong, 'checking for changes' is pretty annoying, but *theoretically* it should only happen when I start the Unity editor in the morning. (The fact that Unity sometimes crashes and you have to restart, or the connection to Unity accounts is lost, makes it a lot worse. But that's enough parentheses))

    The Long Hang (yes, capitals) happens after *every* update, and you cannot submit *anything* if you are not up to date, no matter how unrelated my changes are to the incoming updates. Does 2.0 help with this?

    And then there is the 'Theirs Hang'. This does not seem to be quite as bad as the Long Hang, but still disturbing. The Theirs Hang happens if you select 'Choose theirs' to resolve a file conflict. I guess only noobs still use the 'Choose theirs' button, all the cool kids just click 'Choose mine' and then revert, both of which are nearly instant. How is 2.0 coping with this one?
     
    bigbrainz likes this.
  5. ChibigDev

    ChibigDev

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Can we safely switch back and forth between the 1.2.16 and 2.0-P15 versions? At least once, to check which one actually works better for us in practice.
     
  6. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    5,614
    It doesn’t.
     
  7. MattT5

    MattT5

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Posts:
    47
    Dang it! But thank you for the reply
     
    AcidArrow likes this.
  8. TeemuTee

    TeemuTee

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    We tried 2.0 preview-8 and it actually did resolve this issue so I don't see why it wouldn't be the case with the newest version. However, you could never know what your current changes were and could even make empty commits because the editor just wouldn't update the state and different team members kept getting thousands of random changes in the project so we just rolled back to 1.2.16, the preview just seemed too unstable. We get 20 minute hangs with each update and if it's anything like that for you, it's probably worth a shot, maybe preview-15 won't be as messy.

    Pro tip: When you open the project in the morning and are done checking changes, open the collab history and Restore to the latest update. You can update without the hangs until collab decides to disconnect or you have to restart Unity. Another thing to note is that the hangs never occur on OSX in our experience.
     
  9. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    5,614
    It does, it just lasts only a few seconds (which go away if you also do a restore).
     
  10. MattT5

    MattT5

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Posts:
    47
    I don't follow. Maybe Collaborate 1.2.16 doesn't have this option. My history looks like this:

    upload_2019-5-29_11-0-37.png

    Also, 'restoring' or 'going back to' are not very fast either, and of course you lose all local changes
     
  11. TeemuTee

    TeemuTee

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    You'd select Restore in the commit 5362 in this case and naturally lose your current changes as you said. We've already gotten used to this ridiculous workflow and always commit everything at the end of the day so that we can restore as the first thing after opening Unity. It's not fast, but the updates will be (as long as you don't disconnect or restart Unity).
     
  12. MattT5

    MattT5

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Posts:
    47
    Ah, and that will 'Restore' to the most recent version 5364 instead of 5362? Gotcha.
     
  13. TeemuTee

    TeemuTee

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    No, it will still restore to 5362 as expected. What I'm saying is if you do this kind of restore once, the regular update will no longer take forever and you can use it normally during that session (you won't experience "The Long Hang").
     
    MattT5 likes this.
  14. MattT5

    MattT5

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Posts:
    47
    Ah!

    That's pretty great. And that is why it is a pro tip! ;)
     
  15. Nyphur

    Nyphur

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Posts:
    15
    Is there any chance you could show where the "rescan" button is supposed to be? I can't find it anywhere, my collab UI looks the exact same with 2.0-Preview-15 as it did with the non-preview version.
     
  16. ryanc-unity

    ryanc-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    1,024
    Hi @Nyphur, in the included screenshot you can see in the bottom right of the Toolbar the new Rescan button that you should see if you're using 2.0.0-preview.15. Make sure to restart Unity after updating the package to make sure that Unity loads the correct version of the Toolbar.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    5,614
    Is there anything I can do to recover from this?

    Restarting Unity doesn't make it go away, restarting the computer doesn't make it go away.

    I also occasionally get this error
    Edit: Forgot my favourite
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2019
  18. Nyphur

    Nyphur

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Posts:
    15
    Thanks Ryan, somehow my version of Collaborate had reverted back to the previous package but still said 2.0 until I restarted. Upgraded again and I can see this button.
     
    ryanc-unity likes this.
  19. ryanc-unity

    ryanc-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    1,024
    Hi @AcidArrow, for the first issue it looks like you have a locked index file that was left behind after a process crashed. Try closing your Editor, go into your .collab folder in the root of your project directory (it'll be hidden so you'll need to show hidden files in Explorer/Finder first), and delete the index.lock file. After reopening your project you should be able to continue using Collab normally.

    As for the other errors you're seeing, those are one off errors that shouldn't be affecting any behavior on your end. If you're seeing them multiple times then please let us know so that we can investigate further.