Search Unity

Choosing a visual style for a game

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by TheAlmightyPixel, Jan 6, 2015.

?

What things should be taken into consideration, when choosing a visual style for a game?

1. Genre

35.3%
  2. Atmosphere

74.5%
  3. Personal preference

41.2%
  4. Creator's skills

48.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. TheAlmightyPixel

TheAlmightyPixel

Alright. So, after spending two days thinking about the visual style I'm going to use in my game, I decided to ask for advice. Now, how should one approach the process of choosing a visual style for their game? At first I was going to make my game have a hand-painted style, with really low poly models. I ended up disliking the style. Then, I thought about going for a photorealistic style. I absolutely love eyecandy in games, so it would be fun to go for photorealism, BUT, the only problem I have with photorealism is that I'm not too good at creating photorealistic textures. The 3D models aren't a problem. Also, 2D isn't an option, as I'm making a 3D game. Also, the fantasy/imaginary style doesn't fit my game too well either. So, if anyone could give some advice on picking the correct visual style for a game, it'd be appreciated.

BrandyStarbrite likes this.
  2. Teila

Teila

Unless you are willing to spend a lot of money on assets and have the skills to make them all fit together, then I suggest you stick with your skill level. If you can't do photo-realistic textures, then either buy them or pay someone to make them. But remember, you will need to keep all of your models realistic, including trees, grasses and buildings. I am trying to that, and trust me, it is difficult. :) Thank goodness for the asset store and my own growing skill with tools like Maya. It has taken me many many months to get where I feel good about my choice and even then, there are moments when I wish I was making a cartoony game.

AndrewGrayGames and Gigiwoo like this.
  3. GarBenjamin

GarBenjamin