Search Unity

Choosing a game publisher, or not, for a hypercasual game

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by TillCity, May 3, 2020.

1. TillCity

TillCity

Hello All,

After months of toil I finally have the beta version of my first hypercasual game on Play Store - App Store to come soon. The game in question is a fast paced puzzle with a near infinite number of levels, leader boards, the ability to trade in points for perks, some video reward ads (but placed so as not to annoy) and in-app purchases (yet to be activated)

I am in essence a one-man team (though I often use help from freelancers) and I want to move on to creating my next game. I am toying with the idea of handing over the promotion and marketing of my first game to one of the leading games publishers. However, I am still a newbie when it comes to this. Clearly, publishers will be able to get my efforts the kind of exposure that I could otherwise only dream off (I am assuming). However, at what price does this come. Am I likely to find that I earn a pittance for all my efforts with them keeping most of the profits?

I'd be most grateful for thoughts and tips here from others who have been there before

2. JohnnyA

JohnnyA

This list (with reviews) of hyper-casual games publishers might be of use:

https://www.reddit.com/r/gamedev/comments/9ouse5/hyper_casual_game_publishers_a_complete_list/

The key thing to note, is most deals are heavily biased towards the publishers; on the other hand the high quality publishers probably wont want your game unless its really good.

That said without a publisher or large advertising budget your game will probably be nothing more than a blip on the radar. Unless its really really good of course.

---

Anyway it certainly can't hurt to pitch your game to a bunch of publishers, you don't have to accept their terms. At the very least you can learn from their feedback: