Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Choice of script editor

Discussion in 'Formats & External Tools' started by RockHound, Apr 14, 2006.

1. RockHound

RockHound

The Unity development environment is wonderful, but I would prefer to use a different editor for scripting.

Does anyone use another editor? I'm new to the Mac world, so I don't know what's available.

Alternatively, could I customize the keyboard bindings for the native editor?

Thanks for any advice.

2. Sync1B

Sync1B

Well there are a few options. A lot of people use SubEthaEdit it works but it's nothing to special. Also TextMate I have heard is real nice and has many more features for coding. SubEtha is focused a lot around it's multi-person editing.

Bill

3. Joachim_Ante

Joachim_Ante

Unity Technologies

In the preferences you can select an external editor and unity automatically opens scripts with it.

4. Richard_B

Richard_B

5. aaronsullivan

aaronsullivan

This is kind of like an ad, but it's for something many of you will want and is directly related to this thread, so bare with it! Most of you know I'm not a bot or a spammer.

MacZot! is running an ad promotion for SubEthaEdit from CodingMonkeys which could land anyone who wants it a free copy.

BLOGZOT 2.0 on MacZOT.com

If you aren't familiar with MacZot! they buy a large number of copies of something and then sell it for a significantly reduced price. The drawback is that when they run out of copies, that's it. No dice.

This promotion is an agreement with the software company, I guess, that reduces the price by 5 cents for each mention in a blog by anyone. So, they get a ton of free advertising and you get a much more reduced cost on the software (possibly free! which did happen the last time they tried this.)