Search Unity

TextMesh Pro Check if TextMesh Pro is present in project

Discussion in 'Unity UI (uGUI) & TextMesh Pro' started by Johannski, Jul 1, 2018.

  1. Johannski

    Johannski

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Posts:
    571
    Is there a way to check if TMP is present in a project? The question is regarding to assets for the asset store that want to support TMP, but only if it is present.

    Is there a script define smybole, or should we check if a class exists and then establish our own script define?
     
  2. Stephan_B

    Stephan_B

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Posts:
    3,183
    I used to add the "TMP_PRESENT" to the global defines in OnInitializeOnLoad() but was never satisfied with that handling so I removed it.

    The ability to add global defines for package is something that is being looked into as it is a common request. I proper solution is in the works.
     
    Hosnkobf likes this.
  3. Johannski

    Johannski

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Posts:
    571
    Ah okay, so I do remeber this correctly. Thanks for the answer, I guess as of now it is best to just deal with an extra download to support TMP or just create an own script define. Thanks, looking forward to the streamlined solution.
     
  4. seizestudios

    seizestudios

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Posts:
    15
    Hello guys!
    Are there any updates on this issue?
    I'm now searching for assemblies and adding my own compile condition. And that kind of sucks...
    A TMP native way would be great.
     
  5. io-games

    io-games

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Posts:
    59