Search Unity

Chat Bot

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by Someonelse812, Oct 30, 2014.

1. Someonelse812

Someonelse812

Hello Everyone
    I'm new to game design and new to this forum, so I'm sorry if this is in the wrong forum or if this question isn't specific enough. I don't know enough yet to know what I'm doing or even ask the right questions, but I've recently become obsessed with learning Unity and Blender so I'm hoping someone can at least point me in the right direction?

Anyway, my idea is this...
    Chat Bots have become pretty advanced, in fact just in this past year a chat bot has passed the turing test. So I was thinking, what if you get a decent quality chat bot and put it in the game? For specific NPCs and quest related conversation I would still want to write specific dialogue, but for random NPCs I would just want to have some personality aspects that could be put together randomly to create a personality. Then when the player talks to some random, non quest related NPC they can actually have a conversation rather than just getting the same old repeated line about an arrow in the knee.

I'm guessing this is a big sweeping idea that is WAY beyond anything I could ever hope for any time in the near future, but that is my idea.
    What do you think?

randomperson42 likes this.
  2. StarManta

StarManta

I think you would have a challenge getting people to talk to something they know is not a person, like it's a person. For example, when I use Siri - which is, of course, designed to make the user feel they're talking to a person, in a sense - I started off using full sentences ("Siri, will it rain today?"), but as I got used to it, the sentences got more and more streamlined until I'm just giving Siri direct commands ("Siri, hourly forecast"), the bare minimum to get the job done.