Search Unity

Character moving randomly

Discussion in '2D' started by RushdiRamz, Sep 3, 2019.

1. RushdiRamz

RushdiRamz

Hello, I’m fairly new to both unity and coding (Probably one of the biggest)

So i am making a 2D game for which I plan on putting on Android and I have set up the character controls using buttons and animations for that character. The problem is when playing the game, I randomly stop moving, but my walking animations still plays.(in happens randomly in the levels)
    Is there a way for me to find the cause of it?

Sorry for my noobness

2. bloodwolftico

bloodwolftico

Hi. No worries, we are all noob at something (or were at some point).

So first you need to make sure to separate in your mind the code that moves the character, and the animation/animator components that displays how the character looks like while moving. The reason for this is to help determine where the problem lies (code or animator).

Now, it sounds like you are already aware of where the problem lies, which is the walking animation. You say that randomly the animation keeps playing while you stop moving. This has to do with what triggers your walking animation, inside the animator window. You usually add a condition, and if this condition is met, the animation plays out.

For example: if my character has a speed greater than 0.1f, have the animator runs the walking animation. Now, that would be when you transition INTO the walking animation. What would be your trigger when transitioning OUT the walking animation? For the purpose of this example, it's simple: speed less than 0.1f.

The above example works if you have an IDLE default animation, and you want to transition into a WALKING animation. You only have 1 variable inside the animator (speed), and you just add a condition for when going in, and a condition for when going out of it.