Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.

Character Creator 2D - Editor & runtime character customization

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by mochakingup, Feb 23, 2018.

  1. squallp

    squallp

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    HI, i dint find enywhere else to post this question. Im new to character creator 2D and Unity. I created two different characters i character creator 2D and added them to my scene, creted different scrtipts for movement. Everything works fine for both characters but it shouldnt :D I noticed, in animator editor, that all transitions and parameters from character one are copied to character two and whatever I change on transitions is automaticly changed for both players. I instantiated two diferent animators but I have noticed thet they use same controler CC2D. How could I separate them.

    This is instantiation of animator for player one:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using System.Collections.Generic;
    3. using UnityEngine;
    4.  
    5. public class player1 : MonoBehaviour
    6. {
    7.     private Rigidbody2D myRigidbody;
    8.     private Collider2D myCollider;
    9.     private Animator myAnimator;
    10.  
    11.     private bool skok; // parametar da li je skocio
    12.     public int visinaSkoka = 3;
    13.     //public double duzinaSkoka = 0.56; //trajanje skoka
    14.     public int korak = 4;
    And here is for player two:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using System.Collections.Generic;
    3. using UnityEngine;
    4.  
    5. public class player2 : MonoBehaviour
    6. {
    7.     private Rigidbody2D myRigidbody;
    8.     private Collider2D myCollider;
    9.     private Animator myAnimator2;
    10.  
    11.     private bool skok; // parametar da li je skocio
    12.     public int visinaSkoka = 3;
    13.     //public double duzinaSkoka = 0.56; //trajanje skoka
    14.     public int korak = 4;
     
  2. krischan777

    krischan777

    Joined:
    May 7, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    Hi! I want to ask if there is a best practice tutorial / documentation for making new animations. I found the small instruction in the documentation, thats a starting point but hm maybe there is more detail to find somewhere? I would need something like hold and carry stuff, throw stuff, push and pull buttons etc. and can image to make it by myself. But there are many ways to solve this. What can you recommand? Or do you plan more animations by default in the next updates? Or is there a pool on more user want to share new animations maybe on discord by example? Kind regards from vienna
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2021
  3. mochakingup

    mochakingup

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2014
    Posts:
    212
    Oh wow, I guess I did miss a lot here in the forum.
    Sorry for the inactivity here!
    I'll try to catch up with all the posts, but if any of you need a quicker response, feel free to drop us an email!
    Again, sorry for the late reply yall!

    ---

    Separating the random function does seem like a good idea!

    We did find a similar bug, but on the Lower Leg and Foot, we've fixed it in the latest version (v1.90).
    Upper Arm should work, did you have any custom animations?

    ---

    This is true. Most 2D games are done this way (simply flip the characters). As you've said, it would require double the animations. It's a lot of effort for a very little impact on most players.
     
  4. mochakingup

    mochakingup

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2014
    Posts:
    212
    Hi!
    Thanks for your kind words!

    It does export all CC2D assets on build.
    You can remove any assets that are unused by your characters, unfortunately, there is no automatic way to do that yet.

    Glad to hear that!

    ---

    Hi, there's no direct way to do that yet,
    But there's a workaround for that: you can replace the CharacterViewer object in the UI scene, with a saved prefab of your character. (Make sure to check for missing reference though, and backup the scene before modifying it)

    Yes! Just delete the "Fantasy" folder under the "Parts" and "Sprites" folders.
    Then make sure to hit this menu: "Window/Character Creator 2D/Refresh Parts & Add-Ons" to refresh all the parts.

    ---

    Have you imported it into your project?
    Here's a link on how you can do that, if you're unfamiliar with it:
    https://support.unity.com/hc/en-us/articles/210112873-How-do-I-download-an-asset-I-have-purchased-
     
  5. mochakingup

    mochakingup

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2014
    Posts:
    212
    Hi,
    Unfortunately, this is not supported at the moment.
    You'd need to combine the images yourself using any image processing software like Photoshop.
    Then add it as a new part in CC2D.

    ---

    Hello, it has always been like this since the first release of CC2D.

    ---

    Unfortunately, this isn't that simple and not possible at the moment.
    Switching weapons side means you'd need double the animations, and increasing the complexity of the animations.
     
  6. mochakingup

    mochakingup

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2014
    Posts:
    212
    Hello!
    Generally, different Animators can share the same controller and still animates independently at runtime.
    If you need different animator controller for your characters, you'd need to duplicate the animator controller in your project window, and then assign each controller to your characters.
    Is that what you're looking for? Sorry if I misunderstood your question.

    ---

    Hello!
    There's nothing specific about the animation in CC2D. We use the built-in animation system in Unity.
    This video might be useful if you're unfamiliar with the system.

    We animate the character by modifying the rotation and position of the "Bone_" game objects.
    I'd recommend playing around with rotating the bone objects and experiment with the poses. Then once you've got more comfortable with it, you can try putting it into animation.

    There might be more animations in the future, but it's not our highest priority right now.
     
    krischan777 likes this.
  7. ATeam_Production

    ATeam_Production

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Posts:
    82
    First question: We have purchased Character Creator 2D and several thema assets for it.
    We work with Game/Level Designers who like to use the web tool (https://mochakingup.itch.io/cc2d) to create potential characters (they don't like to use Unity if they don't have to) for our game. After that we have to create again the same character in the tool with Unity.

    Could you eventually create an easy way to give us a solution about that. Peharps a generated code in web editor that we can reproduce or load in the tool to have the same result?

    Second question: What is the next step for Character Creator 2D?
     
  8. squallp

    squallp

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    You gave me solution. To refer to your statment "different Animators can share the same controller and still animates independently at runtime", im expiriencing that when I create transition it is created for both players on scene and whatever I do it changes animation for both characters. Maybe something due to lack of my expirience.
    P.S. So far Im very pleased with character creator 2d
     
  9. Szaruga

    Szaruga

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Posts:
    403
    Before that, I did not use any hats, so I did not notice. I'm going to have to create a function that changes the hair along with the hat, that's a lot of combinations, but it has to be done - because it looks really terrible right now.
     
  10. helloroy

    helloroy

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2016
    Posts:
    33
  11. jdiperla

    jdiperla

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Posts:
    37
    Cyborg pack was just released. Purchased!!!! What pack are you working on next? Any plans for wings and tails?
     
  12. DexEze

    DexEze

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    IT seems your doc's website is not working http://bit.ly/CC2Ddoc

    Also when importing into a 2D project I got errors about not being able to find included packages. com.render.pipeline and com.render.pipeline.universal.
     
  13. mochakingup

    mochakingup

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2014
    Posts:
    212
    hello, that link points to google docs,
    please check if you can access google docs.
    here is the full link for the documentation:
    https://docs.google.com/document/d/1-2myJe7zy6jmImRGheBWq7l_bqAtTnhTYiy_T9RRukM/

    are you trying to use the 2DRP shader?
    which version of Unity are you using? and which version of URP?
     
  14. wanatching

    wanatching

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    Hi I've been playing around with my purchased CC2D I found Lion in helmet section and I thought it would be cool if the head is lion and I can combine other helmet parts to lion. Such as adding glasses or hat to lion helmet. Are there any ways to work around this? or I can do it in Unity? Thanks!
     
  15. wanatching

    wanatching

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    . Are the packs that are discounted on Unity store for only Unity package or also Standalone?
     
  16. TheRalpha

    TheRalpha

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2021
    Posts:
    4
    Are we allowed to use the character creator in game? For example, if I'm making an rpg, can I modify the Character Creator script to fit my game so that players can generate a custom character?
     
  17. mochakingup

    mochakingup

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2014
    Posts:
    212
    hello it's not supported unfortunately, if you are comfortable with editor scripting in Unity, you can add your own category, but it's undocumented.

    the one in Unity Asset Store only for Unity version.
    the standalone version only available from itch.io

    yes!
     
  18. wanatching

    wanatching

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    Hi, are they any ways to make a gif smoother? In the standalone version I export sprite PNG to make GIF but the walk animation length is 1.08333 I try 50-60 target FPS with 0.02-0.03 sec per frame but the GIF is still slow, how can I fix this?
     
  19. mochakingup

    mochakingup

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2014
    Posts:
    212
    helloo, we don't have GIF export.
    this would depend on what app you use to create the GIF from the PNGs.
    there should be some kind of frame rate setting that you can set on that app.
     
  20. hezlym

    hezlym

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Hi.. Just bought the Character Creator from the Unity Asset Store today. But when I import into the Unity 2018.4.28 editr and go to the Windows > Character Creator > Create Character.. I got a black screen with only the base character.. no icons, button sor sliders and say in the inspector many missing scripts.. tried this on 2 Mac machines.. the same.. can anyone help?
     

    Attached Files:

  21. mochakingup

    mochakingup

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2014
    Posts:
    212
    Hi there,
    CC2D support Unity 2019.4 or newer, as written in the details in Asset Store.
     
  22. jdiperla

    jdiperla

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Posts:
    37
    Are you currently working on any new packs for CC2D? I am always looking forward and anxious to purchase more of your packs!
     
  23. metawas

    metawas

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    Hello, thank you for creating this awesome asset! I was wondering, would it be possible for you to add a meditation animation into the asset?
     
  24. emresadol

    emresadol

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    hello, why can't I load this in the browser? What do we need to do for this? When we load it in the browser, the saving system does not work, can you help? not working save png..
     
  25. pbb33

    pbb33

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    Hello, I'm wondering if there's a way to determine the size of a generated character? I'd typically do this by attaching a Renderer component to the game object and accessing its "bounds.size" but it looks like the character is made up of several Renderers (one for each body part) instead of just a single one. I've looked into adding up all the heights/widths of these Renderers but I don't think there's a way to get an accurate value that way. I also tried adding a Box2dCollider to the character but its "size" value seems to be using different units than what I need (my scaled character is ~2 units tall but the collider has a height of ~11.5). Is there any way to get an accurate size directly from a CharacterViewer?
     
  26. pbb33

    pbb33

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    For anyone who comes across this in the future: I was able to determine the size by using the collider's "bounds.size" (not the "size" like I was trying before). However, I'd still like to know if this is possible without having a collider?
     
    TheRalpha likes this.
  27. safaairaq100

    safaairaq100

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    It's great work , but if add any method to add custom animation using (2d animation rigging in unity) to make us create our custom animation , thank you.
     
  28. unity_WyAUK6T8-7tiVQ

    unity_WyAUK6T8-7tiVQ

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    @mochakingup youve created something amazing! Just one thing that I need is a lip sync feature. Like the rhubarb Unity tool. I will donate to your project today in exchange for this feature! I need it for my project. Thank you!
     
    rtester65 likes this.
  29. rtester65

    rtester65

    Joined:
    May 5, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    Hi I was wondering how hard it would be to add tooltips for the color swabs so color blind people could know what colors they are looking at. Also are you still working on this?
     
  30. jdiperla

    jdiperla

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Posts:
    37
    Any new updates or dlc's for character creator 2d in the works?
     
  31. TheRalpha

    TheRalpha

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2021
    Posts:
    4
    Sometimes I get an error where I'll load a character model from a JSON or modify a character model during runtime and the character's eyes close and are stuck being closed. Does anyone know what causes this?

    Edit: It specifically changes the eyes to Base 05.
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2022
  32. Cparthur

    Cparthur

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    I'm sure I'm doing something wrong, but can someone help me - I'm trying to use this at runtime to let players create their own characters for use in my game. The resulting character is exported as a prefab. In the unity editor, I've already created a prefab with the default name and attached colliders, rigidbodies and several scripts. When running the game in the editor it's fine and the newly designed prefab is used in the game and functions correctly. The problem is that when you build the game and try to run it that way, it doesn't work and uses the prefab that I used as a template in the editor.

    Can anyone steer me in the right direction as to what I've done wrong? I'm a total novice at Unity and so am not making things easy for myself, I'm sure. Many thanks
     
  33. Krnitheesh16

    Krnitheesh16

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2020
    Posts:
    9
    "Serious Problem on Memory Optimization Menu"
    Hi, when I disable the memory optimization it removes the "Texture" and "Color Mask" references on all Parts.

    Any Idea or solution to rectify this issue?

    Thanks
     
  34. Krnitheesh16

    Krnitheesh16

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2020
    Posts:
    9

    I found the bug and I found the "Solution"

    upload_2022-10-10_19-55-25.png

    By Adding:


    [FormerlySerializedAs("m_texture")]


    Attribute over the variable solved the Issue.
     
  35. CystemCV

    CystemCV

    Joined:
    May 7, 2022
    Posts:
    25
    Thank you for giving us the answer friend
     
  36. CystemCV

    CystemCV

    Joined:
    May 7, 2022
    Posts:
    25
    Anyone know how to make the lit shaders work?
     
  37. Muskrat_Madness

    Muskrat_Madness

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    This is my first time trying to use Unity, so I may be missing something obvious here. I bought this on the Itchio store and I'm having trouble figuring out how to install it. I've created a new project and tried to import it using Window > Package Manager and clicking on the plus sign. It's not recognizing the package. Do I need to crate a particular type of project to do this? Thanks.
     
  38. Mixxit

    Mixxit

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Posts:
    31
    any chance there is a duster/long jacket type asset addon for this?