Search Unity

Character controller rotating downward on the X axis.

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Hotpockets26, Jul 8, 2018.

1. Hotpockets26

Hotpockets26

Hello! I am new to Unity and coding in general, and I am making a character controller for my game. Basically what I'm trying to do is make movement similar to Wind Waker (What I mean by wind waker movement is the player moves facing towards the players input direction no matter the position of the camera, but the cameras forward is always the players forward.)

So the problem is my character rotates on the X Axis whenever I look up or down with my camera.

What I want is what my character does now for the most part, which is rotate toward my WASD input based on the direction of the camera (AKA the cameras forward is the characters forward whenever I am moving), and all that works fine except it is rotating on the X axis as well.

This only happens when I am moving because I set an IF statement to make sure my character doesn't rotate toward WASD input when I am standing still.

Here is my code for the Character Controller

Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using System.Collections.Generic;
    3. using UnityEngine;
    5. public class PCTest : MonoBehaviour
    6. {
    8.     public CharacterController _controller;
    10.     // The Vector3 used to store the player input, and then output it into the controller.move function.
    11.     private Vector3 _moveDirection;
    13.     // The movement speed of the player.
    14.     public float moveSpeed;
    16.     // The gravity up or down for the player
    17.     public float gravityWeight;
    19.     // The catch up rotation speed of the capsule to the camPivot using slerp
    20.     public float capsuleRotSpeed;
    22.     // Use this for initialization
    23.     void Start()
    24.     {
    26.         _controller = GetComponent<CharacterController>();
    27.         //  anim = GetComponent<Animator>();
    29.     }