Search Unity

Character Controller Memory Allocation

Discussion in 'iOS and tvOS' started by zbuffer, Nov 1, 2009.

1. zbuffer

zbuffer

Hi All,

I'm a programming noob so please go easy on me. I'm working on a 2D sidescroller game and I've noticed that the Character Controller allocates memory while isGrounded = true.

As a test, I used FPSWalker.js on a GO with the character controller attached. There is nothing else in the scene except for a ground plane.

While the player is in the air (jumping) the used heap does NOT increase. But as soon as the character is grounded the heap increases in increments of 4,096 which eventually leads to garbage collection as the allocated heap is inevitably exceeded.

This is very bad for the iphone as I believe it to be the source of performance hitches in my game.

Has anybody experienced this problem and is there an alternative that will prevent or manually release these allocations.

thanks,
    scott.

2. andeeeee

andeeeee

The only thing in the script that I could imagine being the cause of this is the GetComponent call on line 24. You could try removing that line and replacing it with a single call in the Start method:-
    Code (csharp):
    1. var controller : CharacterController;
    3. function Start() {
    4.     controller = GetComponent(CharacterController);
    5. }

3. zbuffer

zbuffer

Hi andeeee,

Thanks for your reply. Unfortunately, that is not the case. Here is the code I was using for the test:

Code (csharp):
    2. var speed = 6.0;
    3. var jumpSpeed = 20.0;
    4. var gravity = 20.0;
    6. private var moveDirection = Vector3.zero;
    7. private var controller : CharacterController;
    9. function Start () {
    11.     controller = GetComponent(CharacterController);
    12. }
    14. function Update() {
    16.     if (controller.isGrounded) {
    18.         moveDirection = Vector3(Input.GetAxis("Horizontal"), 0,
    19.         Input.GetAxis("Vertical"));