Search Unity

Character Clothing - What are your needs?

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by wildspidee, Mar 24, 2018.

1. wildspidee

wildspidee

My name is Lori and I'm an advanced Marvelous Designer user. I wrote the book "Understanding Marvelous Designer: A Guide for CG Artists" and I need your help.

I was going to sell MD files with garments to game developers, but I'm not convinced that everyone wants to buy MD and learn to use it. I think most of you just want really great clothes for your characters. I would love to supply you those clothes, but I don't know what you need. I'm new to game development and I'm working through Unity tutorials to learn. There is so much I don't know that I thought it would be easier to ask you all directly.

MD does a terrible job with quads, so I know that the garments will need to be re-topologized, so that is a requirement. Do you want very detailed high poly count meshes that you can then simplify or do you want low poly, or do you want both?

Do you want the fabric textures (diffuse, bump, normal) to go with the garments or just the mesh?

What character should be used as the base for the garment creation? Should I just create characters (I use the Manual Bastioni LAB) and give them to you with the clothing? Bastioni is working on a proxy system that would allow you to resize clothing based on the character mesh. Would that be a viable option? I think the base character is really the biggest issue to solve.

Making very realistic, high quality clothing for game developers is my goal. I just need your insights to make it a reality. I really appreciate your time and feedback.

Jaimi likes this.
  2. TeagansDad

TeagansDad

I can't speak for everyone, but I'd be very interested in low-to-medium poly meshes, with fabric textures, built for UMA characters.