Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.1 beta is now available.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We're looking for insight from anyone who has experience with game testing to help us better Unity. Take our survey here. If chosen to participate you'll be entered into a sweepstake to win an Amazon gift card.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. On February 28th the Feedback website will shut down and be redirected to the Unity forums. See the full post for more information.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Want to provide direct feedback to the Unity team? Join the Unity Advisory Panel.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Unity 2018.3 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice

Changing UI code

Discussion in 'Unity UI & TextMesh Pro' started by Democide, Oct 27, 2016.

  1. Democide

    Democide

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    275
    So the UI code is open source. If I want to make changes to it, how can I propagate those into my game?
     
  2. fffMalzbier

    fffMalzbier

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,714
    You can
    A: Download the corresponding file from the repository , change it and put it in your project.
    it will replace the file that would be loaded from the UI dll.
    B: Download the wohle repository and change what you need and then generate a new UI dll and place that dll in the unity directory.

    You can find that repository here :
    https://bitbucket.org/Unity-Technologies/ui
    on the front page there is a tutorial who to build the UI dll.
     
  3. Democide

    Democide

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    275
    Oh thanks! :D
     
  4. Democide

    Democide

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    275
    Quick question: Just putting the file in my project doesn't seem to change anything. I'm assuming there's as specific folder or something?
     
  5. Piflik

    Piflik

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Posts:
    217
    Did you ever find a solution to this?