Search Unity

Changing level

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Wadoren, Jul 19, 2016.

1. Wadoren

Wadoren

Hi!
    I'm new to unity and I'm building my first game.
    Today I wanted to create an exit of my level that changes to the next one.
    Basically what I did was create an empty gameobject with a collider and I attached this script to it:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. void OnTriggerEnter (Collider other)
    2. {
    3. if (other.tag == "Player")
    4. {
    5. GameManager.instance.NextLevel();
    6. }
    7. }
    Next level is a function on the Game Manager script:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. public static GameManager instance = null;
    2. private int activeSceneNumber;
    4. void NextLevel ()
    5. {
    6. activeSceneNumber = SceneManager.GetActiveScene().buildIndex;
    7. SceneManager.LoadScene ((activeSceneNumber + 1), LoadSceneMode.Single);
    8. }
    Both of the scripts are attached to their corresponding GameoObjects, the "detector" has a collider that is trigger, the player has the player tag and I have put the scenes in order in the Build Settings. However, whenever my Player goes though the collider I get this error: "NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object Detector.OnTriggerEnter (UnityEngine.Collider other) (at Assets... cs: 10)". Line 10 corresponds to : GameManager.instance.NextLevel ();.
    I've tried everythig that I came up but I don't seem to find the solution to this error.

Last edited: Jul 19, 2016
  2. kru

kru

GameManager.instance is probably not being set. If you have an object with the GameManager script attached that is active and enabled in your scene, then it needs to declare itself to be the instance.
    Code (csharp):
    1. // in GameManager class
    2. private void Awake()
    3. {
    4.      instance = this;
    5. }

3. MSplitz-PsychoK

MSplitz-PsychoK