Search Unity

Changing Input.GetKey to Touch Screen

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by troycoulter90, Mar 6, 2019.

1. troycoulter90

troycoulter90

Hi,

I am extremely new to Unity, creating apps and coding. None the less i have followed a tutorial by Brackeys ( https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLPV2KyIb3jR53Jce9hP7G5xC4O9AgnOuL ) to create a Cube based 3D game i have absolutely no problems until i exported onto my Android device and realized i have no way to control the Cube. I have tried a few things like changing it to Input.Touch and such but to no prevail. Any assistance showing how to change the script below to a script that has ability to use touch screen. such as where ever the finger is move the player object to the finger location.. or even touch left side to go left touch right to go right.

using UnityEngine;

public class PlayerMovement : MonoBehaviour{

// This is used to reference the Rigidbody componant called "rb"
    public Rigidbody rb;

public float forwardForce = 2000f;
    public float sidewaysForce = 500f;

// Update is called once per frame
    // Always use "FixedUpdate" when "messing" with physics
    void FixedUpdate()
    {
    // Add a forward force
    rb.AddForce(0, 0, forwardForce * Time.deltaTime);

if (Input.GetKey("d"))
    {
    rb.AddForce(sidewaysForce * Time.deltaTime, 0, 0, ForceMode.VelocityChange);
    }
    if (Input.GetKey("a"))
    {
    rb.AddForce(-sidewaysForce * Time.deltaTime, 0, 0, ForceMode.VelocityChange);

}

if (rb.position.y < -1f)
    {
    FindObjectOfType<GameManager>().EndGame();
    }
    }
    }

Any help would be extremely welcome and appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Last edited: Mar 6, 2019
  2. MD_Reptile

MD_Reptile

You can create UI buttons in the editor, and setup your canvas to scale to appropriate screen orientation, then have those call methods in your script that can do the same things as hitting a key from your script.

For example:
    Code (CSharp):
    1.     public void LeftHit()