Search Unity

Question Changing 2D sprite rotation with min and max angles using mouse movement

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by AndrewM5, May 8, 2022.

1. AndrewM5

AndrewM5

I am new to Unity so I have been mostly going by youtube videos and forums to help me along the way. I am using Unity version 2020.3.29f1.

I am trying to make a 2D sidescroller where the player sprite changes direction whenever the mouse moves past a certain angle. I have gotten my player to change direction but I don't know how to add the min and max angles.

This is my current code that changes my sprite to rotate on the z-axis. I found this on another form and tweaked it to what I needed. I would ideally like it to rotate along the y-axis instead of the z-axis, however, I wasn't able to do it with this code.

Code (CSharp):
    1. Vector3 mousePos = new Vector3(Input.mousePosition.x, Input.mousePosition.z, 10);
    2.         Vector3 lookPos = Camera.main.ScreenToWorldPoint(mousePos);
    3.         lookPos = lookPos - transform.position;
    4.         float angle = Mathf.Atan2(lookPos.z, lookPos.x) * Mathf.Rad2Deg;
    5.         transform.rotation = Quaternion.AngleAxis(angle, Vector3.forward);
    If anyone could help that was be appreciated.
    I am not opposed to switching this out for better code if it's easier, this is just the one I found that sort of worked

2. Kurt-Dekker

Kurt-Dekker

Atan2() has an output range from -pi to +pi (-180 deg to 180deg)

If you structure it right, you can get the one Atan2() call to return you the angle around you, with 0 being straight up, and then you could clamp it to -150 to +150 or whatever.

And you can compare it to other lower numbers to decide when to flip left/right.

3. AndrewM5

AndrewM5

I kinda of understand what you are saying. Since I have little knowledge of c# and Unity would you mind showing the code or giving an example of what I would need to change?

4. AndrewM5

AndrewM5