Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.

Change resolution of the terrain splat-texture?

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by br0kenp0ly, Nov 19, 2008.

  1. br0kenp0ly

    br0kenp0ly

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Posts:
    481
    Hi!
    Does anyone know if it`s possible to change the resolution of the splat-texture used for painting textures on the terrain? I see there`s an option to set the resolution under the Terrain-menu, but it also has a warning saying it will reset your entire terrain.

    Right now im trying to paint a path on my terrain, but since the splat-map are too low-res, my path turns really blocky.


    Anyone?

    :)
     
  2. Dreamora

    Dreamora

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    26,601
    don't raise the splat map size but reduce the terrain size and use multiple terrains.

    larger texture sizes will cause some serious slow down on weaker system as each double of size raises the amount of shader ops by a factor of 4
     
  3. Eric5h5

    Eric5h5

    Volunteer Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Posts:
    32,352
    Change the control texture resolution. That won't reset the physical terrain, but will erase the splatmap. I haven't noticed any particular slow-downs with larger splatmap resolutions...what you want to avoid is going over 4 textures if possible, as each set of 4 (or partial set) requires an additional splatmap which causes the terrain to be drawn again I think, but that's a separate issue.

    --Eric
     
  4. br0kenp0ly

    br0kenp0ly

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Posts:
    481
    Hi guys thanks a lot for your replies!
    I ended up changing the control resolution to 2048 instead of 512 and removed 4 of the 8 terrain textures. Now It`s actually possible to draw a smooth path on the terrain. Wicked!

    Thanks again!
     
  5. Kragh

    Kragh

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Posts:
    652
    And there is no hack to do this without erasing the splat map information? I really just want to take the splat maps, and manually (in photoshop) resizing them. But it seems the maps are stored within the cryptated terrain.asset file. Any way of accessing these maps from outside of unity?
     
  6. Kragh

    Kragh

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Posts:
    652
    Nothing? It's very frustrating to be able to see these splat maps in the editor, and not being able to do anything to them, outside of Unity :p So close, and yet so far away...
     
  7. gads

    gads

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Posts:
    34
    I'm trying to modify these textures too.
    Any update on this subject? :roll: